Restless Spirits

Restless Spirits

by Jordan L. Hawk

Paperback

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

After losing the family fortune to a fraudulent psychic, inventor Henry Strauss is determined to bring the otherworld under control through the application of science. All he needs is a genuine haunting to prove his Electro-Séance will work. A letter from wealthy industrialist Dominic Gladfield seems the answer to his prayers. Gladfield's proposition: a contest pitting science against spiritualism, with a hefty prize for the winner.

The contest takes Henry to Reyhome Castle, the site of a series of brutal murders decades earlier. There he meets his rival for the prize, the dangerously appealing Vincent Night. Vincent is handsome, charming...and determined to get Henry into bed.

Henry can't afford to fall for a spirit medium, let alone the competition. But nothing in the haunted mansion is quite as it seems, and soon winning the contest is the least of Henry's concerns.

For the evil stalking the halls of Reyhome Castle wants to claim not just Henry and Vincent's lives, but their very souls.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781505557107
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 01/05/2015
Pages: 204
Sales rank: 609,445
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.47(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Restless Spirits 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CrystalMarie218 More than 1 year ago
Let me start off by saying I am a fan of Jordan L Hawk’s writing. Her characters have such depth and capture me within the first chapter. I root for those characters and they become my friends almost instantly. Ival and Griffin from Whyborne & Griffin, John, Caleb, and Gray from SPECTR, Dan & Leif in Hainted, and Sebastian, Kai, and Conner from Heart of the Dragon (A book I wish she would continue). As such, I was very excited for her new series Spirits. Unfortunately, Restless Spirits fell short of my expectations. The plot was well thought out and maybe she was focused on a plot run story, but I never quite felt close to either Vincent or Henry. They were just there, characters in a story that was far more captivating than its champions. I loved Jo and Lizzie more than our two heroes. Now, that said, I will buy the next book in the series to see if the characters grab me. I adore Ms. Hawk’s writing and feel she will *hopefully* bring out more of Vincent and Henry in the next so that I can connect with them. There is actually much I could write, but I don’t want to give anything away – because, like always, the author paints an imaginative picture with her brush of words. The castle, the ghosts, the science machinery – all of it was laid out for us. With the blurb all about Henry, I must admit to being surprised that the story ended up being from 2 points of view – with the prologue being the reason dear Vincent does not want to play with ghosts anymore. I just wish I felt more for the two main characters. There was also a rather large plot hole that so jarred me that I went back and read and reread over the passage to see if I’d missed it. Vincent and Henry had been attacked by the malevolent ghost. It had severed the ability for anyone to hear what was going on and they had to hide in the nursery to protect themselves. In the morning, Jo mentioned she never heard them call for help. Neither of our heroes mentioned they had and it made me wonder why she assumed they had called out. Maybe it was a loss-leader, because I doubted Jo for quite some time after that. There is more than one malevolent being at Reyhome castle. If our two heroes can’t learn to play together, everyone might be trapped forever. And yet, when one of the bad guys gives himself away to one of our heroes, he doesn’t bat an eye. I was railing at him in my head “Don’t trust him!” but did Vincent listen to me? Oh, no! *grins* Dang characters, not listening to their reader. This was a good story, a very good story. I just wish I had more attachment to the two heroes. While I suggest it, if you haven’t read a Jordan L Hawk yet, I would start with either Whyborne & Griffin if you prefer historical paranormal or SPECTR if you prefer Urban Fantasy/paranormal. Then, read this one. After all, in my opinion those two series are, by far, her best. Reviewed by a-nony-mouse for Crystal’s Many Reviewers *Copy BOUGHT for review*
Talekyn More than 1 year ago
Fans of Jordan L. Hawk’s “Whyborne and Griffin” books will find familiar basic world-building in her new “Spirits” series: the Victorian-era American setting, two unlikely gay protagonists, strong female supporting characters, a plethora of intriguing tertiary characters, and a supernatural mystery that is deeper than it at first seems to the characters involved. But there’s also much different as details build on those basics. The tone of this new series is more traditional Gothic Horror (complete with castle setting, hidden staircases, and inclement weather that strands characters where they are in the most danger) than Lovecraftian. I think the tonal shift is important since this series is not a spin-off of the W&G books (although one hopes Hawk will give us a cross-over eventually); it’s good for authors to experiment with different parts of the horror genre. Craft-wise, Hawk is clearly as comfortable tweaking the tropes of Gothic Horror as she is those of the Lovecraft Mythos. The main characters of Strauss and Night are not just retreads of Whyborne and Griffin. Unlike W&G, Strauss and Night are fully aware from the beginning that the supernatural exists, that it can, and will, impinge on the mundane realm given every chance to do so. They do not enter their competition blindly or completely unprepared, but rather perhaps a bit too cocky (on Strauss’ part) and too gun-shy (on Night’s). This enables the author to move the plot into full-on haunted house mode much faster than in the first W&G book, another pleasant change. As for characterization: both Strauss and Night are as infuriating as they are endearing. Each man has admirable qualities (for Strauss, his steadfast devotion to the welfare of his bi-racial cousin Jo; for Night, his devotion to the memory of his dead mentor), but each man also possesses a trait that holds us back from immediately liking him (with Strauss, it’s his constant assertion that Science is more reliable than Spiritualism; with Night, it’s the rake-ish behavior towards both genders that he uses to hide his inner pain). By the end of the book, the infuriating qualities are not as grating and the endearing aspects make the reader want to know more about both characters. Hawk has also really diversified the cast. Night is Native American, Jo is half-black, half-caucasian, and there is also a transgender supporting character, the reveal of whom is so well-crafted I won’t spoil it here. Almost by necessity of setting, the Whyborne & Griffin series cast is largely white and of Anglo-Saxon descent (if not Protestant), so this expanded diversity is very welcome, and I look forward to seeing all of these characters, already well-developed, grow and change over time. Also probably needless to say: with a book set in the early 1900’s and a racially diverse cast, Hawk very capably utilizes the intolerance and prejudice of the time as a running sub-plot in a more blatant way than she would in a story where being gay is the only thing that sets the main characters apart from their neighbors. (Yes, Whyborne and Griffin have to stay closeted, but they don’t face the immediate disregard that the female, black and/or Indian characters face here in Restless Spirits.) The plot, hinged as it is on the competition between Science and Spiritualism and hampered by the knowledge that this is the first book in a romance series, does take a few predictable turns (both science and spiritual remedies for the supernatural ills of Reyhome Castle fail at key moments; Strauss and Night are thrust together in several “too close to avoid intimate contact” awkward moments) but the author has fun with knowing which beats in the formula she needs to adhere to and which she can tweak and have fun with. The sex scenes are as hot as always, and the actual scenes of our heroes doing battle with the supernatural are engrossing. Definitely a recommended read for gay paranormal romance and gothic horror fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by Hawk that I have read, and it will not be the last. Restless Spirits is terrific: great characters, strong world-building, truly creepy ghosts, and quite a bit of social commentary. Highly recommended to fans of Mercedes Lackey, Zoe Archer, and KJ Charles. -- lyradora
Pika_ More than 1 year ago
This is now officially my favorite haunted house book!!! The atmosphere and visuals provided by the writing were perfectly creepy!! Henry, Vincent and the others weren't the only ones who spent a weekend in a haunted house, I did too reading this!! While I felt that there was less romance and chemistry between Henry and Vincent then there is with Whybourne and Griffin the great sense of setting and constant action kept me at the edge of my seat throughout. I will definitely keep my eye out for the sequel and cross my fingers that things heat up for our new team of leading men.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GaryH More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book and look forward to the next and you will too
MaraJ73 More than 1 year ago
When you find yourself on the ground floor of a new series, it's a pretty great feeling.  To have it by an author you already love is pretty exciting.  But, to have it rival or at the very least a close second to said author's series that brought you to the author it's pretty darn amazing.  And that's what Restless Spirits have been for me.  It may not currently reach the level of giddiness I have for Miss Hawk's Whyborne & Griffith series, but Restless is well on it's way to being right up there and that's only after one book!  It hasn't even been a month since Henry and Vincent first debuted and already I'm longing for the next installment.  I love the way the author introduces us to both sides of the ghost detecting(to put it simply) business.  This story is filled with twists, sexy times, mystery, sexy times, ghosts, sexy times, okay maybe I'm over doing the sexy times but it's definitely very hot, very heart wrenching, funny at times, and of course paranormal suspense. 
rickofoly More than 1 year ago
Jordan L. Hawk has never let me down! I absolutely loved this book. Jordan does a fantastic job with historical novels. This one includes a Haunted Mansion, two Mediums and a Scientist all vying for a $500 prize to rid the mansion of it's unwanted inhabitants. For me there was nothing NOT to love. I'd really like the author to keep writing about the main Characters in the book. Vincent the Indian Medium, Hank the Scientist make a really interesting couple to read about.  The Secondary Characters are every bit as interesting and the situations well written. Sure kept me on the edge of my seat!