Safe Harbor

Safe Harbor

by Antoinette Stockenberg

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Safe Harbor by Antoinette Stockenberg

Fans of Nora Roberts and Barbara Freethy will relish this fast-paced, humorous and tender novel of romance, suspense, and family relationships by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg.

SAFE HARBOR. That's what Martha's Vineyard has always been for Holly Anderson, folk artist, dreamer and eternal optimist. If she could just afford to buy the house and barn she's renting, fall in love, marry the guy and then have children as sweet as her nieces, life would be pretty much perfect.

Poor Holly. She has so much to learn.

Havoc arrives on the island in the guise of stunningly beautiful Eden Walker, a gold-digging con woman who's already stolen the nest egg of an elderly couple and who promptly seduces Holly's sixty-something father while she's in hiding. Holly's mother is devastated, her sister won't deal with it, and Sam Steadman--son of the now impoverished couple and a man who has more than one reason to hunt Eden down -- is furious. After a bumpy start, Sam and Holly join forces to track down the elusive Eden and reclaim both treasure and father. But hearts and minds collide, and shipwrecked emotions are strewn along the way. Will Holly and Sam ever be able to trust one another after the not-so-merry chase?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013703346
Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date: 01/18/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 36,312
File size: 410 KB

About the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Safe Harbor 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 166 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fast-moving, fun book that's set on Martha's Vineyard in the summer. (I didn't think the subdued cover matched the tone of the story.) Besides the satisfying and charming romance, there are family issues that a lot of people can identify with and a mystery with some twists. It all kept me turning the pages. Very entertaining.
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
An excellent read by a great author!! Recommend Highly!
romancelover19 More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. I'm so glad I found it. The characters made me feel like I was really there, and I can't wait to find another one by this authors. Excellent
QA More than 1 year ago
This author keeps you glued to the story until you finish it. I like her descriptie way she tells the story. I have read several of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and will diffidently be checking out more from this author. With 900 pages it's sure to entertain you for hours and hours.
sd75 More than 1 year ago
Had never read her books before but now I have several. Should read.
MickMJ More than 1 year ago
I have yet to read one of Antoinette Stockenberg's books that was not a great read. This one is no exception.
pianotshr More than 1 year ago
Being a loyal fan of antoinette Stockenberg, I was not disappointed in this book. Great read! Looking forward to her next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished this on my NookColor, my 4th Stockenberg to date. Each one has had true to life characters who are well defined but are not perfect and present exciting interaction in an interesting setting and story with suspense and romance. Have read Safe Harbor, Keepsake, Month at the Shore and Charmed Cottage. Bekoved is ready and waiting. Love the easy accessibikity in the Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story
FRSalem More than 1 year ago
Long book and well worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was quite interesting and attention holding. The ending was quite unexpected. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This great read grabs you right away. Reads like a good movie and ends too quickly. Def worth the read.
jfinn73716 More than 1 year ago
Nice summer read! Enjoyed the book!
BRI8LLOLAW More than 1 year ago
THIS IS A GREAT SERIES! THANKS FOR HAVING IT AVAILABLE.
momoffourgrammieof3 More than 1 year ago
If you like a book that will keep you interested, this is the book for you. I find that Ms. Stockenberg is an interesting writer and will keep you guessing at the outcome of the book. I have only recently discovered her books and continue to look for them to read.
cp10 More than 1 year ago
Wow- this reading was filled with mystery , romance, and excitement. I would definitely read a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, romance, intrigue. I really wanted Eden to get her comeuppance and Holly' s mom isn' t much of a mom as far as I'm concerned. I will read more by this author. GJRA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It kept you interested even though it was quite long. This is hard to accomplish most times, but she really did it. Even when you had to leave it you were anixous to get back. Well worth your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gotta love a love story with mystery could not put it down. This is the 3rd book ive read with this author plan to read them all.
MommaBear8837 More than 1 year ago
My first Antionette Stockenberg book and I liked it very much. Characters are realistic and the plot keeps moving without becoming cumbersome. Definitely reading more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She's done it again...a romantic mystery set in Martha's Vineyard this time. Stockenbridge keeps you coming back for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was a wonderful exciting book. Keeps you reading.
Chicosue More than 1 year ago
When I purchased this book, I had never heard of Antoinette Stockenberg. But this story had me reading until I finished. I will purchase other books by this author, as she is able to put the reader in the story!