Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery

Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery

by Shirley Tallman

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

"Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen." —Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson's home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781429984072
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 03/30/2010
Series: Sarah Woolson Mysteries , #4
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 326,867
File size: 690 KB

About the Author


SHIRLE Y TA LLMAN lives in Eugene, Oregon and Incline Village, Nevada.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Scandal on Rincon Hill 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
terrica37 More than 1 year ago
Once again the intelligent ,fiesty and obviously lovely lady that is Sarah Woolson finds herself right in the middle of murder and mayhem in Victorian San Francisco. What is so much fun for me in these stories (besides the plots, of course) is the birds eye view of the politics, and mores of the time. Shirley Tallman has obviously done her homework in researching the history of San Francisco, and as a native of "the city", I enjoy these books immensely. Woven among the foreboding romance of Chinatown , the suffering of the Chinese immigrants; the rigidity of the role of women in those Victorian times, and of course the corrupt ruling political class and their methods of "entertainment", Ms Tallman has created an intelligent mystery, all the while treating us to Sarah's romantic "coming of age". Thoroughly enjoyable! I can't wait for the next mystery with Sarah, her family, friends, and old San Francisco.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the year of our Lord 1881 in San Francisco someone stabs to death botanist Nigel Logan. The corpse is found on Rincon Hill, a couple blocks from the Woolson family home. Adding to the connection is that the night before the homicide, Nigel and Judge Horace T. Woolson attended the same party. SFPD Police Sargeant George Lewis accompanied by the Judge's son crime reporter Samuel investigate. Also looking into the murder is the Judge's other offspring Sarah the attorney. A few days later, Logan's friend Deacon Hume is killed; seemingly by the same culprit. The police arrest Chinese immigrants as the case is going nowhere so they need suspects even if there is not one drop of evidence. Sarah defends the Asians although many on Rincon Hill including a predator want her to lose the case. The latest Woolson historical mystery is a superb San Francisco Victorian tale (see The Cliff House Strangler) that is a great period piece legal thriller. The story line is fast-paced from the moment George wakes up Sarah by tossing pebbles at her window and never slows down. Although the climax can be seen from the top of Nob Hill to the Tenderloin, fans will enjoy this exhilarating Americana novel. Harriet Klausner
JOANN84 More than 1 year ago
SCANDAL ON RINCON HILL by Shirley Tallman Shirley Tallman's "Sarah Woolson" books rank at the top of historical mystery. Tallman's latest is no exception. SCANDAL ON RINCON HILL opens with a bang. Sarah is rousted out of bed in the middle of the night by the news that a body has been found just two blocks from the Woolson family home. Not one to be left out of things, the intrepid Sarah grabs a lantern and rushes to the murder scene along with her humorous brother, Samuel, who secretly writes crime articles under the nom de plume, Ian Fearless. They are horrified to find a young man in elegant dinner dress savagely beaten to death. Two more identical murders quickly take place on Rincon Hill. All of San Francisco clamors for police to make an arrest. Prejudice against the Chinese is rampant in Sarah's world of 1880. Two badly frightened Chinese boys who cannot even speak English, are arrested and thrown into jail, certain to go to the gallows. Having endured her own share of prejudice in daring to invade a man's world and become a "lady" lawyer, the compassionate Sarah takes their case. She knows no jury of white men will acquit her clients. Therefore the only way she can save them is to uncover the real murderer. Her investigation plunges her into peril and leads her into the seamy underbelly of the city where no "lady" should go. As always, Tallman's research is impeccable, the plot clever and immensely satisfying, the writing fast-paced and vivid, and the climax a huge but believable surprise that will stun readers. Colorful characters abound. Fans of the series will shout, "Hurrah," as the tall, dark and devastatingly handsome Pierce Godfrey, whom they met in an earlier book, reappears in Sarah's life, turning it upside down. SCANDAL ON RINCON HILL is a winner. Don't miss it! JoAnn Wendt joannwendt@sbcglobal.net
Lovetoreadmysteries More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate to obtain an advanced copy of SCANDAL ON RINCON HILL to preview, and I'm happy to say that I loved every word of it! Tallman just seems to get better and better with each new book in the Sarah Woolson series. This time a body is found close to Sarah's Rincon Hill home, and she and her brother Samuel sneak out of their house in the middle of the night to view the scene of the crime for themselves. When a second body is discovered in the same quiet neighborhood just a few days later, San Francisco goes into a panic thinking a serial killer is on the loose. Not only was the mystery fast paced and compelling, but I loved the way Tallman gave us a peek inside the city's high class brothels -- the scene where Robert Campbell is ogled by a number of scantily-clad "ladies of the night", is hysterical! I also appreciated visiting San Francisco's theater district, it must have been a lot of fun. I loved seeing the wonderful character of Pierce Godfrey make an appearance again, even if poor Robert isn't at all amused. All in all, a wonderful, exciting read. The problem with Tallman's books, however, is that I don't want to put them down once I've started. So, a friendly warning: don't start one right before you go to bed. I highly recommend SCANDAL ON RINCON HILL!
delphimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoy this series set in 1880-1890's in San Francisco. Tallman weaves many tidbits of history into the story such as the rivalry between Isaac Kallock and Charles DeYoung that resulted in DeYoung shooting Kallock and Kallock surviving the gunshot. Then Kallock's son guns down DeYoung, the editor-in-chief of The San Francisco Chronicle. Again, Tallman exposes the hatred directed toward the Chinese and the distinct class levels. Other interesting topics are presented such as Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species and The Descent of Man and the use of photography for police work. The story presents a child's desire for a certain career and a parent's choice of a career for the child. In this novel, three young men are murdered in the neighborhood of the Woolsons and Sarah attempts to seek justice for a rich man's mistress. Also, 28-year-old Sarah has two men romantically pursuing her. This is a fun and entertaining series, and I eagerly await the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy the Sarah Woolson series. I hope that Shirley Tallman will write more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great mystery from Shirley Tallman. Her characters, setting details, and plot twists never fail to amaze me. Each book in the series just seem to get better and better. Can't wait for the next one! A mystery fan from Sacramento, California
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago