Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories

Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories

Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories

Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


What is a life well-lived? What decisions will you make to have a meaningful life? What kind of stories will you leave behind?

Travel with twenty-three speculative fiction authors through the seasons of life to capture the memories, identities, and moments of stepping through the portal of change, as they cope with their own journeys of growing older.

From the moment of birth, through each threshold of our lives, to the moment we take our last breath, we age.

Some of us leap into a hopeful future, some cling to the knowns of our former selves, some wander obliviously through the minefields and poppies of change. Something is lost, something is gained in each season. Things forgotten, things remembered.

A child redefines identity and belonging in post-Soviet Hungary. A girl blossoming to adult awareness exchanges life for death in rural Canada. A college student chooses between the magic of ancient spirits and the magic of daily happiness in modern Japan. In futuristic India, a mother finds joy in the balance between family and career. Under the Andalusian sun, a mathematician consults his older self in affairs of love. In alternate Tanzania, a husband and wife discover wisdom in memory loss. A robot eases an old man's grief, and a grandmother opens her heart when she listens to her child.

And many more hopeful stories.

Featuring Original Stories by Maurice Broaddus, Vanessa Cardui, C.J. Cheung, Joyce Chng, Eric Choi, S.B. Divya, Alan Dean Foster, Bev Geddes, Maria Haskins, Tyler Keevil, Rich Larson, Karin Lowachee, Brent Nichols, Heather Osborne, Y.M. Pang, Karina Sumner-Smith, Amanda Sun, Patrick Swenson, Bogi Takács, Hayden Trenholm, Liz Westbrook-Trenholm, Jane Yolen, and Alvaro Zinos-Amaro.

With an Introduction by Candas Jane Dorsey

Edited by Susan Forest and Lucas K. Law

The anthologies in this award-winning series (Strangers Among Us, The Sum of Us, Where the Stars Rise, Shades Within Us) have been recommended by Publishers Weekly, Booklist (American Library Association), Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, School Library Journal, Locus, Foreword Reviews, and Quill & Quire.


"Featuring a diverse range of protagonists and a wide variety of genre and voice, this anthology nevertheless forms a cohesive whole, united by deep thought, emotional truth, and a hopeful tone. Speculative fiction fans will find it well worth searching out." -Publishers Weekly

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781988140179
Publisher: Laksa Media Groups Inc.
Publication date: 08/08/2021
Series: Laksa Anthology Series: Speculative Fiction
Pages: 362
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

About The Author
Jane Yolen, often called "the Hans Christian Andersen of America," is the author of over 382 books, including Owl Moon, The Devil's Arithmetic, and How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight. The books range from rhymed picture books and baby board books, through middle grade fiction, poetry collections, nonfiction, and up to novels and story collections for young adults and adults. She is a Grandmaster of SFWA, SFPA, and the World Fantasy Association. Six New England colleges and universities have given her honorary doctorates for her body of work. One of her awards set her good coat on fire.

Susan Forest is an award-winning author and editor of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Her novel, Bursts of Fire was released in 2019, to be followed by Flights of Marigold (2020), Gathering of Ghosts (2022), and Scents of Slavery (2022). She has published over 25 short stories, contributes to When Words Collide, and has appeared at many international writing conventions. With Lucas K. Law, she co-edited Strangers Among Us, The Sum of Us, Shades Within Us, and Seasons Between Us. Susan loves travel and has been known to dictate novels from the back of her husband's motorcycle. Visit her online at Follow the Addicted to Heaven series at

Lucas K. Law is a Malaysian-born award-winning editor and author who divides his time and heart between Calgary and Qualicum Beach. With Susan Forest, he co-edited Strangers Among Us, The Sum of Us, Shades Within Us, and Seasons Between Us. Lucas is the co-editor of Where the Stars Rise with Derwin Mak. When he isn't editing, writing, or reading, he is a corporate and non-profit organization consultant in business planning and development.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Lucas K. Law; Introduction by Candas Jane Dorsey; Clear Waters by C.J. Cheung; Groven by Heather Osborne; Robocare by Rich Larson; Dress of Ash by Y.M. Pang; Hope to See the Ghost Tonight by Patrick Swenson; Lay Down Your Heart by Liz Westbrook-Trenholm and Hayden Trenholm; The Veil Between by Karin Lowachee; Sympathétique by Alvaro Zinos-Amaro; The Selkie's Skin by Bev Geddes; Messages Left in Transit, Devices Out of Sync by S.B. Divya; Joe by Vanessa Cardui; Summer of Our Discontent by Tyler Keevil; A Grave Between Them by Karina Sumner-Smith; Blue Kueh by Joyce Chng; Second Thoughts by Eric Choi; The Sabhu My Destination by Maurice Broaddus; The Hidden Knowledge Society by Bogi Takács; The Light of Stars by Amanda Sun; The Hollow Oath by Brent Nichols; When Resin Burns to Tar by Maria Haskins; Exchange of Perspective by Alan Dean Foster; The Astronaut's Four Seasons by Jane Yolen; Afterword by Susan Forest; Acknowledgements; About The Contributors; About The Editors; Copyright Acknowledgements; Appendix: Mental Health Resources and Anti-Discrimination Resources

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews