Seed Savers-Lily

Seed Savers-Lily

by Sandra Smith

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Seed Savers-Lily by Sandra Smith

From newcomer Sandra Smith comes the exciting sequel to Treasure, book one of the unique Seed Savers series. This futuristic series is perfect for fans of Among the Hidden and The Giver.

It's definitely not what she had in mind for summer vacation.



When her friends disappear under mysterious circumstances, thirteen-year-old Lily sets out to discover more about the secret organization with which they were involved--Seed Savers. Her investigation unearths a disturbing secret from her own past, unsettling her world even more. In the meantime, Lily makes a new friend and falls for a mysterious young man even as she remains unsure about whom she should trust. As her world crashes around her, Lily struggles to decide what to do next.



Lily is volume two of the Seed Savers series but can easily be read out of order. It is is a suspenseful and reflective book with themes of self-empowerment, trust, acceptance of diversity, gardening, and politics.

"In Lily, young people continue to secretly grow vegetables, an illegal act in their world. They form diverse friendships across ethnic lines as they search for truth behind unanswered questions. Lily encourages readers to bravely work for a better world!"--Joyce Yoder, middle school teacher and principal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781943345090
Publisher: Flying Books House
Publication date: 08/30/2018
Series: Seed Savers , #2
Pages: 182
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.42(d)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Seed Savers: Lily 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Cat2002116 More than 1 year ago
(I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review). (This review may contain spoilers). I felt this book worked really well as a sequel to Treasure. It was nice to see a first person POV book actually stick to one POV character... though if I'm honest, I noticed at least one moment where it slipped up - 'I had no way of knowing, but...' Yeah. That doesn't work in a first person book, because if the character has no way of knowing, why is it mentioned? Sorry, pet peeve there. It was good to see Lily's character further explored. I didn't think it was very nice for Clare and Dante to leave her behind in book one, even if it was understandable as to why they did. It was also interesting to see more of Rose in this book. I wasn't as grabbed by Ana in this book, I have to say. I had the feeling she really didn't trust Lily and since I liked and empathised with Lily, I found myself getting annoyed on her behalf. It was also good to see more of Lily's mother and also Clare and Dante's. I think I would have liked to see more of them in the book, though I understood the main focus was more on the children. I did think this book moved at a very gentle pace, even more so than the first book. I would have liked to see a little bit more action. I am curious to see what will happen in book three, though. There were some conflicts in this book (that helped make the characters more 'real') that I would like to see resolved in the next book.