Sense and Sensibility: With 10 Illustrations and a Free Audio File.

Sense and Sensibility: With 10 Illustrations and a Free Audio File.

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Sense and Sensibility: With 10 Illustrations and a Free Audio File. by Jane Austen, Fugu-Fish Publishing

Sense and Sensibility: With 10 Illustrations and a Free Audio File.

By Jane Austen

Sense and Sensibility, though not the first book Jane Austen wrote, it was the first to be published.

The story is set in the South west of England and Kent, and it follows the two Dashwood sisters: Elinor and Marianne. Elinor is sensible and rational, whereas her younger sister is wildly romantic. Elinor finds a potential suitor called Edward Ferrars, and though Marianne states she "loves him tenderly," she finds him disappointing as a lover for her sister.

Soon, however, Marianne meets a man who measures up to her ideal – a new neighbour, who just moved in, called Mr. Willoughby. So swept away by passion is Marianne that her behaviour begins to become scandalous. Meanwhile, Elinor's growing affection for Edward suffers when he admits to her that he is secretly engaged to a childhood sweetheart. Misfortunes and the lessons they draw are the spirit of the book that concludes in a happy ending.

Highlights of this edition are:

• A free online audio file of the complete book. (Downloadable).
• 10 illustrations and photos.
• It is formatted for ease of use and enjoyment on your nook reader.
• An active (easy to use) Table of Contents listing every chapter accessible from the nook "go to" feature.
• Perfect formatting in rich text compatible with Nook's Text-to-Speech features.
• Plus, About the Author section.
• 567 pages in the nook format.

This book is unabridged and appears as it was first intended. First published in 1811.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156923182
Publisher: Fugu-Fish Publishing
Publication date: 08/31/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,181,696
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Jane Austen (1775-1817) was an English author known primarily for her six major novels set among the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century. Considered defining works of the Regency Era and counted among the best-loved classics of English literature, Austen’s books include Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Persuasion. The latter two were published after her death.

Date of Birth:

December 16, 1775

Date of Death:

July 18, 1817

Place of Birth:

Village of Steventon in Hampshire, England

Place of Death:

Winchester, Hampshire, England


Taught at home by her father

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews