Silence: Lectures and Writings, 50th Anniversary Edition

Silence: Lectures and Writings, 50th Anniversary Edition


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Silence: Lectures and Writings, 50th Anniversary Edition by John Cage

Silence, John Cage’s first book and epic masterpiece, was published in October 1961. In these lectures, scores, and writings, Cage tries, as he says, to find a way of writing that comes from ideas, is not about them, but that produces them. Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching. Fifty years later comes a beautiful new edition with a foreword by eminent music critic Kyle Gann. A landmark book in American arts and culture, Silence has been translated into more than forty languages and has sold over half a million copies worldwide. Wesleyan University Press is proud to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the book’s publication with this special edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780819573650
Publisher: Wesleyan University Press
Publication date: 07/06/2013
Edition description: Anniversary
Pages: 312
Sales rank: 504,853
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

JOHN CAGE (1912–1992) was an American composer, philosopher, poet, music theorist, artist, printmaker, and amateur mycologist. A pioneer of percussion, chance, and electronic music, Cage was one of the most influential American composers of the twentieth century. He was also instrumental in the development of modern dance in America, mostly through his association with choreographer Merce Cunningham. Cage is perhaps best known for his 1952 composition 4'33", the three movements of which are performed without a single note being played. KYLE GANN is one of the nation’s leading music critics. Since 1997 he has taught music theory, history, and composition at Bard College. He is the author of The Music of Conlon Nancarrow, American Music in the 20th Century, Music Downtown: Writings from the Village Voice, No Such Thing as Silence: John Cage’s 4'33", and Robert Ashley.

Table of Contents

Foreword to 50th Anniversary Edition by Kyle Gann
The Future of Music: Credo
Experimental Music
Experimental Music: Doctrine
Composition as Process
To Describe the Process of Composition Used in Music of Changes and Imaginary Landscape No. 4
To Describe the Process of Composition Used in Music for Piano 21-52
Forerunners of Modern Music
History of Experimental Music in the United States
Erik Satie
Edgard Varèse
Four Statements on the Dance
Goal: New Music, New Dance
Grace and Clarity
In This Day...
2 Pages, 122 Words on Music and Dance
On Robert Rauschenberg, Artist, and His Work
Lecture on Nothing
Lecture on Something
45’ for a Speaker
Where Are We Going? and What Are We Doing?
Music Lovers’ Field Companion

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews