Slingshot: Building the largest machine in human history

Slingshot: Building the largest machine in human history

by Robert Williscroft


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781732478800
Publisher: Starman Press
Publication date: 08/18/2018
Series: Starchild Trilogy , #1
Pages: 376
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.84(d)

About the Author

Served 23 years in U.S. Navy and NOAA. Enlisted as a nuclear Submarine Sonar Tech in 1961, selected for the Navy Enlisted Scientific Education Program in 1966, and graduated from Univ of Wash in Marine Physics and Meteorology in 1969. Returned to nuc subs as the Navy's 1st Poseidon Weapons Officer. Subsequently, served as Navigator and Diving Officer on both catamaran mother vessels for the "Deep Submergence Rescue Vehicle." Then joined SubDevGroup One out of San Diego as the Officer-in-Charge of the Test Operations Group, conducting "deep-ocean surveillance and data acquisition" - which forms the basis for his bestselling Cold War novel, "Operation Ivy Bells."

Directed NOAA diving operations in the Pacific & Atlantic. Taught 3,000 individuals basic & advanced SCUBA, wrote 4 diving books, developed the 1st NAUI drysuit course, developed advanced curricula for mixed gas & other specialized diving, and developed a NAUI course on the Math & Physics of Advanced Diving. His dissertation, "A System for Protecting SCUBA Divers from the Hazards of Contaminated Water" was published by the US Commerce Dept and distributed to Port Captains worldwide. Served 3 years in the Arctic on science projects, and 13 months at the geographic South Pole with the National Science Foundation.

Has written extensively on terrorism. Wrote a bestselling current events book, "The Chicken Little Agenda - Debunking Experts' Lies," and a children's series, "Starman Jones," in collaboration with Dr. Frank Drake, director of the Carl Sagan Center for the Study of Life in the Universe and the SETI Institute.

"Slingshot," the 1st book in the "Starchild Trilogy," is about building the first Space Launch Loop. Book 2, "The Starchild Compact," is based on the discovery that Saturn's moon Iapetus is a derelict starship, and how Earth explorers meet with the "Founders" who originally arrived on the starship and populated the Earth long ago. Book 3, "The Iapetus Federation," is about the World falling under the rule of a planet-wide Caliphate, where the Founders establish the Iapetus Federation, a loose federation of free off-world communities that carries on the traditions of free enterprise and individual accountability throughout the Solar System and beyond.

Member of the Adventurers' Club of Los Angeles and Editor of their magazine for 10 years. Member of Colorado Authors' League and editor of their InPrint. Member SF Writers of America. Lives in Centennial, Colo, with his family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews