Solo

Solo

by Jill Mansell

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Solo by Jill Mansell

"Jill Mansell keeps on getting better..." —Good Housekeeping

Good intentions go awry in this irresistible page-turner from international bestseller author Jill Mansell

Outspoken Tessa Duvall lives in a tiny, cozy cottage near Bath, struggling as an artist and feeling she doesn't really fit in with her posh friends. One fateful evening, she lets her best friend drag her to an elegant party, with every intention of sneaking out early. Then she encounters Ross Monahan, the high-profile hotel owner who, quite literally, charms the pants off Tessa.

She knows Ross and his wicked reputation may be nothing but a distraction, but soon, Tessa realizes that even a temporary fling can have permanent consequences... Could Ross actually be the best thing thats eve'r happened to her?

One fling follows another, and now the whole community is embroiled in a great big web of deceit, the untangling of which will charm you, amuse you, make you laugh and make you cry.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492632429
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 01/01/2017
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 316,358
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Solo 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
pagirl56 More than 1 year ago
this book was first published by this author in 1991. I may be a "new" ebook but it is not a new release from this author.
gaele More than 1 year ago
3 stars – rounded up from 2.5 Usually a book from Jill Mansell is a must-grab for me as her stories are full of humor and heart, often with multiple characters that are compelling and intriguing. I was hoping for the same in this bad boy makes good story. Tessa is an artist, wholly different from her best friend Holly and completely unconcerned with the outward trappings of wealth, and not interested in a relationship. Holly is a bit more driven, focused, and completely convinced that Tessa needs a change, as well as wanting to further her own moments with her boss, Max. Max and Ross are brothers, also very different from one another. These two own an upscale hotel that Max manages, while Ross reaps the benefits in terms of status, wealth and his own little black book. A well-known playboy, Ross is wholly unsuitable for a relationship, but Tessa surprises herself with her attraction to him. She’s aware of what he is – and isn’t looking for more. So – if the book stopped here, I would have thought it felt a bit ‘written to request’ as the Billionaire Alpha Bad Boy Male trope is strong with Ross. And Tessa is just that right, slightly unfocused, not too bright but wholly supportive female friend that works for these stories. And then the wheels fell off the bus. Who, in their right mind (and YES – I know this is fiction – but let’s at least pay nodding acquaintance to sexual health and good practice. Tessa is, oh woe is me, pregnant. From a one night stand – with a renowned player with a history of women in his past. So, she moves down from not too bright to perhaps too stupid for words – but the story goes on. She’s going to raise the child Solo, with no interference or assistance from the father. In fact, she doesn’t want him told. Perhaps a noble move in some respects, but wholly selfish - and I hate this sort of trope. But, I soldiered on hoping that Ross would show me some reason to like him, that Mansell’s previous skill in character development, dialogue and interconnecting stories and people would save me. It didn’t. The book went from not for me to SO not for me: there was little character development, few moments of laughter or lightness, and I was left feeling as if the story was half-hearted. Flat and rather unispiring, I found Tessa insipid, Ross loathesome and while together Holly and Max were cute – there just wasn’t enough emotion or believability in any of them for me to care if their story ended happily. I struggled through to the end, but now struggle with my rating. Solid fans of Mansell may find this story entertaining and similar to Three Amazing Things About You. I thought this lacked the layered characters that brought that story to life. Perhaps not a first choice for a Mansell title, but fans who devour all her books are sure to like this. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
PegGlover More than 1 year ago
Solo is a story about painful consequences, unrequited love, betrayal, and adultery. This book deviates from Jill Mansell’s usual light and witty chick-lit novels. Although the subject matter is dark and distressing, the author’s talent for writing witty dialogue and funny circumstances substantially lightens up this story. Tessa’s life had turned upside-down since her one-night stand with Ross Monahan. She knew it had been a mistake. Ross was a notorious womanizer and now; unfortunately, she was pregnant by him. Ross; however, after discovering that Tessa was carrying his child, told her that he was a changed man and wanted to marry her. He ended a long-standing affair with Antonia, a beautiful but spiteful, selfish married woman. Antonia was not about to accept defeat, though; she would get her revenge. Antonia was committed to using whatever means necessary to destroy Ross’s relationship with Tessa. Holly, Tessa’s best friend, was eccentric and immature. She also had horrible taste in men. Holly was in love with Max Monahan, Ross’s brother. Max had no romantic interest in Holly. In fact, he found her irritating. Although the story is not entirely realistic, it’s well-written, heart-wrenching and infuriating. The characters are well-developed and captivating. Their stories come alive, demonstrating for the reader, the painful consequences of poor choices, secrets, lies, and betrayals. Many thanks to the publisher and NetGalley, for my advanced review copy of Solo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always a fast paced good d read, set in Bath one of my favorite UK cities