Speak No Evil
Speak No Evil

Speak No Evil

by Uzodinma Iweala

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Overview

Winner of the American Library Association’s Barbara Gittings Literature Award | An Indie Next Pick | A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month | A Library JournalBest Book of the Year

"A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."—Gary Shteyngart

"A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala’s characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."—Larissa MacFarquhar

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he’s a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala’s second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month | A Library Journal Best Book of 2018 | One of The Millions’ Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of Bustle’s 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of The Boston Globe’s 25 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061284939
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/05/2019
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 94,043
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Uzodinma Iweala received the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award, and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, all for Beasts of No Nation. He was also selected as one of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists. A graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, he lives in New York City and Lagos, Nigeria.

Hometown:

Potomac, Maryland

Date of Birth:

November 5, 1982

Place of Birth:

Washington, D.C.

Education:

A.B., Harvard University, Magna Cum Laude in English and American Literature and Language, 2004

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Speak No Evil 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 21 days ago
This book isn't what I expected because I didn't read any reviews. It was recommended. We are slapped with this reality every day in the news. Well written, poignant, sad, happy, maddening and a deep despondency at the end that cut deep because of the sad truth of it. Couldn't give it five stars, just couldn't.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this art imitating life or vice versa? Sadly, this story is still happening in today's world and it just makes me sad. I hope we all can make choices for a better future where stories like this will not happen. Truly, an inspirational book.