Speaking Ill of the Dead: Jerks in Florida History

Speaking Ill of the Dead: Jerks in Florida History

by E. Lynne Wright

Paperback(First Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
8 New & Used Starting at $5.20


The lives of notorious bad guys, perpetrators of mischief, visionary–if misunderstood–thinkers, and other colorful antiheroes, jerks, and evil doers from history all get their due in the short essays featured in these enlightening, informative, books. Speaking Ill of the Dead: Jerks in Florida History features more than a dozen short biographies of nefarious characters, from the misguided Dr. Frederick Weedon, the physician who treated the great Muskegee warrior 'sceola during his captivity, to Lewis Powell, John Wilkes Booth's Florida co-conspirator.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780762778546
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 12/03/2013
Series: Speaking Ill of the Dead: Jerks in Histo Series
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 232
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

E. Lynne Wright is the author of It Happened in Florida, More than Petticoats: Remarkable Florida Women, Disasters and Heroic Rescues of Florida: True Stories of Tragedy and Surival, Florida: Mapping the Sunshine State Through History (with Vincent Virga), and Myths and Mysteries of Florida, published by Globe Pequot Press.Her short stories, nonfiction articles, essays, and book reviews have appeared in the Cleveland Plain Dealer, Hartford Courant, Woman's Day, and many anthologies and literary magazines. She lives in Vero Beach, Florida.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vii

Introduction viii

Chapter 1 Dr. Weedon's Gruesome Surgery 1

Chapter 2 John Wilkes Booth's Florida Conspirator 11

Chapter 3 The Carpetbagger Governor 22

Chapter 4 Florida's Green Menace 32

Chapter 5 The Burning of Styx 41

Chapter 6 Booker T. Washington Gives a Speech 51

Chapter 7 Guy Bradley's Killer 63

Chapter 8 Edgar J. Watson, Killing Machine 74

Chapter 9 The Divisive Governor Catts 84

Chapter 10 111 Years of Child Cruelty 95

Chapter 11 Ben Hecht Buries a Treasure 105

Chapter 12 Pepper, Ball, and Gorgeous George 115

Chapter 13 The Trial of Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings 126

Chapter 14 Sheriff McCall's Brutal Reign 138

Chapter 15 KKK: Organized Jerks 149

Chapter 16 McCarthyism Invades Florida 161

Chapter 17 Justice for Adam 172

Chapter 18 Even Heroes Can Be Jerks 183

Chapter 19 Queen of Florida Jerks 195

Bibliography 206

Index 215

About the Author 222

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews