Stiltsville

Stiltsville

by Susanna Daniel
3.4 46

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.39 $14.99 Save 31% Current price is $10.39, Original price is $14.99. You Save 31%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, August 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Stiltsville by Susanna Daniel

“A wise and loving portrait of a marriage….Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart.”
— Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

 

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel’s Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. Called “an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read” by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061963087
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/28/2011
Series: P.S. Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 528,011
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Born and raised in Miami, Susanna Daniel received her MFA at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, and was a Carl Djerassi Fiction Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. She lives in Madison, Wisconsin. Stiltsville is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stiltsville 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Florida_Bound More than 1 year ago
A great new book, from a great new author. I try to read things that can transport me back to South Florida and this book did just that. I have to sdmit, this is the first time I read a novel from a woman's point of view. As a 35 year old, beer drinking, pickup truck driving, "regular guy", I guess I finally found my "sesitive side". This book helped me appreciate some of the struggles my wife may go through someday. Also as a bonus, it put me right back in south Florida. The heat, the storms, the ocean, man I miss that place.
Tdgutman More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very good. I took it on vacation to the Keys and enjoyed reading it. Growing up in Florida, there were events that I remembered, which is always fun for a reader. I don't know if it's because I read it on my Nook, but there was a series plot point I never expected. The author painted these fallable characters that in the end you really come to love. I would recommend this book!
VictoriaAllman More than 1 year ago
Stiltsville, Susanna Daniel's debut novel, is a quiet storm of a novel about a man and woman and their life in Miami over a 30-year period. This is a look at life. Not in an edge-of-your-seat type way, but in a lyrical, tender, these-are-the-moments-of-a-marriage way. Each character is well fleshed out as is each scene. Dennis and Francis met in their late twenties at Stiltsville, a part of Miami you have to see to believe. Daniels brings the setting to life for those who have not encountered Stiltsville. They fall in love, raise a family and endure the ups and downs of marriage together. You can not help but fall in love with the characters and Daniels Miami. She has written one of the most authentic and genuine stories of a life lived that I have read. I want to live and experience Miami as she and her characters have. This story moved me -- which makes it a treasure in my world. Victoria Allman author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a story that builds to a monumental climax, you may wish to select another book. This is the story of a woman's life from her first meeting with the man she would eventually marry and through the entire life of their marriage--with all the ups and downs, all the uncertainties and "could haves" that aflict most marriages. It unfolds slowly, builds up, drops off, builds up again. And like any life well-lived, it is worth the adventure.
NanamissB More than 1 year ago
Until the very last few chapters, I stayed right with the story and really liked how every detail of the ordinary lives of the characters did not have to be revealed. It would have taken many many more pages because this book covered 30+ years. However, near the end of the book, there were flashforwards and then backs that I thought were disjointed and unnecessary, although it may have made the story more ordinary in that way. Some things went unexplained in a seemingly mysterious way but I did enjoy the book and would recommmend it to my friends because they may feel differently and everyone has opinions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Though it's a nice story, there are multiple times where her narrations between the present year and future made it confusing. It's fine if it happens once in a while, but for every chapter?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very slow to develop. Not worth the time.
Sandy Gavin More than 1 year ago
Did not enjoy this authors writing style. This was less a story with emotion than a catalouging of events in awomans life. Read it to the end but it was tedious going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is sad for more than one reason...the story itself brings tears to my eyes and the writing style of the author brings tears to my eyes. A wonderful story that is too difficult to follow. I won't be looking for other books by this author. Sad
TXGatorGirl More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Growing up in south Florida, I loved the setting of the book, but I also thought the writing was excellent and the story was sweet and interesting. It made me laugh and cry. The characters felt like family by the end.  At $1.99 iits a great buy!!! 
vpsVS More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I've read. It is so well written, so true to life and a beautiful story of love and friendship. The author provides you with a rich insight into the history of the Miami the way it was. As a South Floridian I enjoyed the Miami setting, however the story itself really left a lasting impression. I cannot wait for another novel by this author. Though it is a book geared to women, the Miami history would make it interesting to all readers. I would recommend it for book club discussions.
Kathy Mikulski More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. Didn't want it to end.
me2nc More than 1 year ago
This was a novel that read well. It was just a story - no plot turns, no sitting on the edge of your seat waiting to see what would happen next. Just a story that kept me intrigued. It felt like I was just listening to someone tell me what was really going on in their life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had to finish reading once I started it, but, couldn't wait for it to end.  Story lines sometimes not completed, leaving you wondering what happened.  Dwelled too much on this women's feelings abut other men.  Not a happy story and not enjoyable to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe this book starts off a bit slow, but as you continue reading it becomes so real and true. I couldn't put the book down. I love stories like this that span the characters lifetime - the best of life and the worst, but most importantly the simple day to day that we often take for granted and overlook as the best days. I'm always sad to have the story end.
joanna98446 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the worst book I have started to read. I quit after the first 50 pages. I tried it because I grew up in South Florida but very quickly the author made a major mistake: electric eels do not live in So. Florida waters (they live in the Amazon which is fresh water) . I kept reading thinking the electric eel was just a detail but things kept going down hill. What trite crap. Save your money and your time.
anonomas More than 1 year ago
This is a good book, but the author's other book is much, much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had hard time wanting to continue reading. It was ok but not my favorite author.