Sweetland: A Novel

Sweetland: A Novel

by Michael Crummey

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.46 $14.95 Save 10% Current price is $13.46, Original price is $14.95. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28

Overview

The epic tale of an endangered Newfoundland community and the struggles of one man determined to resist its extinction.

The scarcely populated town of Sweetland clings to the shore of a remote Canadian island. Its slow decline has finally reached a head, with the mainland government offering each islander a generous resettlement package— the only stipulation being that everyone must leave. Fierce and enigmatic Moses Sweetland, whose ancestors founded the island, is determined to refuse. As one by one his neighbors relent, he recalls the town’s rugged history and its eccentric cast of characters. For fans of The Shipping News, Michael Crummey’s prose conjures up the mythical, sublime world of Sweetland’s past amid a storm-battered landscape haunted by local lore. In a spare style that belies “huge emotional depth and heart” (Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You), Crummey masterfully weaves together the past and present, creating in Sweetland a spectacular portrait of one man’s battle to survive as his world vanishes around him.

Winner of Newfoundland Book Award

Short-listed for the Governor’s General Award

Winner of the CBC Bookie Award for Fiction

Finalist for the Winterset Prize

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781631491108
Publisher: Liveright Publishing Corporation
Publication date: 09/07/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 760,774
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Michael Crummey is a poet and storyteller and the author of several critically acclaimed novels. His most recent book, Galore, won the Commonwealth Prize for Canada.
He lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sweetland 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
GrammyReading More than 1 year ago
four stars for the writing...the excellent storytelling..the vastness of the expanse of land this novel covers....the harshness of the survival of the main character Moses Sweetland...headshaking eye blinking tales of a life lived on its own terms...despite the signs encouraging forward progress...the direction Moses takes is his own...the choices perfecting his life and intensifying the inevitability of his demise....the characters are props and backdrops for this life of a stubborn, unyielding soul....a single soul..one of many
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
I  received this novel, an advanced readers copy, from Liveright Publishing Corp and Michael Crummey as a Goodreads Giveaway. Thank you all for allowing me to read this wonderful novel and to add such a great writer to my list of favorites. This is a very special book, with constant demands on your emotions and yet another family to care about and watch over.  Moses Sweetland is the last remaining descendent of the founding family of the small island of the same name off of the coast of Newfoundland. Like much of the southwest of the US, children of the last two or three generations had to move to the big cities for work, leaving the population of Sweetland older and disabled folks, and dwindling in numbers. The government, in order to cut their losses, offered a one time payment of $100,000 per family if they would move to the mainland and allow the island to return to the state. The only caveat is that everyone had to agree. Moses holds out, antagonizing the rest of the community. What follows is a great story, full of angst and joy and wonderful word pictures of a community isolated and very much well known to one another. Read this book. It will keep you up nights, I promise.