The Adversary: The Sundering, Book III

The Adversary: The Sundering, Book III

by Erin M. Evans

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 29
22 New & Used Starting at $1.99


In this third book of the Sundering series kicked off by R.A. Salvatore and the dark elf Drizzt, SCRIBE award-winning author Erin M. Evans thrusts her signature character Farideh into a maelstrom of devilish politics and magical intrigue that will have far-reaching implications for the future of the Forgotten Realms.

As the chaos of the Sundering rages around her, young warlock Farideh faces a more personal turmoil wrought by a deal she made with a devil years ago. Hoping to protect her twin sister, she leaves everything she holds dear to assist a wizard in a scheme that pits the devils of the Nine Hells against the gods above.

But when Farideh casts the spell to enter the wizard’s remote mountaintop fortress, she picks up a stowaway—a Harper agent named Dahl who isn’t so inclined to follow devilish demands. Dahl attempts to escape only to run into a village of odd people, lurking behind an impenetrable wall.
Forced to gaze into the villagers’ souls, Farideh points out the ones who seem different, only to watch as the wizard’s guard carts them off to fates unknown. Are these villagers or prisoners? Are they blessed or doomed by the gods? As the wizard’s guessing game proves more and more diabolical, Farideh resolves to unravel his secrets—even if it means she’ll lose her own soul to the Nine Hells.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786965366
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
Publication date: 05/06/2014
Series: Forgotten Realms Sundering Series , #3
Pages: 528
Sales rank: 128,541
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.80(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

ERIN M. EVANS got a degree in Anthropology from Washington University in St. Louis—and promptly stuck it in a box. Nowadays she uses that knowledge of bones, mythology, and social constructions to flesh out fantasy worlds. She is the author of The God Catcher, and she lives in Washington State.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Adversary: The Sundering, Book III 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've started to like the characters in Erin Evan's Brimstone Angels series, but this novel started to add very interesting elements as part of the larger Sundering Plot. I haven't enjoyed books that address larger impact to Faerun since the Avatar Series. Some parts felt rushed and happened rather quickly. I feel like Havilar has a lot of potential as a character, but she didn't have much of a role except actively avoiding conversation. I've been waiting for her to take on more of a life of her own, and hopefully with the ending of this book and the fact that she is no longer in the dark about the forces interested in her, she can grow to be more than the "other sister". That said, there was a lot of positive character growth in characters in this story. I was glad to see the development in Dahl and Mehen. I intend to keep following the Brimstone Angels.
AJVaughn More than 1 year ago
I am a Forgotten Realms fan so continuing with this series has been an enjoyable read. Lots of plot twists and good characters though the tielfling twins can be a little melodramatic at times. Bit it works out in the end. Start from the beginning and like most series there are related issues and characters in the Never Winter series that continues here. Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book opened up my imagination, thoughts & understanding of just what The Sundering consequences will mean for The Forgotten Realms. My first time reading Erin M. Evans, now I am looking into reading her previous works! DM
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
An epic series, epic authors, dark fantasy that is detailed and deep, book three of The Sundering, The Adversary by Erin M. Evans is following in step with its predecessors! , Farideh is drawn into a world of deceit, magic and mayhem as she is taken prisoner in Netheril, only to discover that the Chosen of the gods are being held and exploited for their secret powers. Will she make it out alive? Can she be rescued? Can she trust those who claim to be her ally? Is this one more time the fates have dealt her a wicked hand? In keeping with the pace of the previous books, this is does not race across the pages, but does rely on very intense detail and intrigue. The characters were flawed, and not always completely likable, but there is the sense of inner strength that comes through in the expansive dialogue throughout. Erin Evans has done a very good job of adding to the depth of the series, with a sense of darkness and chaos throughout, sure to assist in the revival of the Forgotten Realm! I received an Arc edition from Wizards of the Coast in exchange for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like this book if you don t then you won t like this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago