The Core

The Core

by Kate Thomas

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 26

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781927940297
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Publication date: 02/12/2015
Pages: 210
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.48(d)

About the Author

Kate Thomas, is the author of the upcoming Equilibrium Series, a five-book supernatural new adult series, with plans for a few more series in 2015.

She is a CPA by trade, a church planter and entrepreneur at heart; however, writing and reading are passions she just can't help but indulge in. With more ideas than one person should be allowed, she is blessed to have a muse that doesn't seem to take a vacation and more energy that one might consider healthy.

Sign up for my newsletter? http://eepurl.com/bbT9M1

She writes under the following pen names:
L.A. Starkey - Young Adult & Middle Grade Paranormal
Isabella James - Sci-fi/Fantasy
Lauren Elizabeth - Adult Contemporary Romance

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Core 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Lila-Rae More than 1 year ago
Ellie works as an Accountant for her Elusive and strange boss David , but when she tries to get closer to him , she ends up seeing more than what she should have . Who is David Really ? and why did he hire Ellie for his firm ? This is usually not my typical genre , I tend to go for romance and paranormal with Darker elements and a much more steamier storyline , if you will. Don't get me wrong , this was a very interesting storyline , it kept me reading .I would definitely recommend it to Fantasy & Sci-fi readers who like YA & NA with suspense , action , mystery and intrigue.... not much really in the romance dept. The author made sure to keep you hooked with good mysterious characters and loads of unanswered secrets .It made me frustrated at points , where you think you knew what was happening , but you will learn everything at an agonizing pace , like Ellie in time as the story goes on. Another thing I wish was different was that Ellie needed to be stronger .She was a bit Ditzy , it made me insane and then just as she's learning things ...Poof , Cliffhanger ending !
Buukwuurm More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book to read that is both entertaining and engaging, this is it. It has a very unique and interesting take on the age old power struggle between good and evil. I am intrigued by the premise and can't wait to read the second book in the series to learn more about all the characters in this story. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt like the beginning of The Core kind of jumped into the story and it took me a few pages to figure out what was going on, but I caught on quickly and truly enjoyed it. **I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This first book of the Equilibrium series should come with a warning. It begins an addiction that will cause you to need the rest of the series in short order. At times I found it too heavy to read straight through, but I had to keep coming back. Definitely not your typical romance story. I don't even mind that I had to buy it in pieces.
Ann04 More than 1 year ago
A great story. This is a different paranormal story than any I have ever read before. The characters quickly drew me in. I can't wait to read more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice different take...I can't wait to see what happens next, however . ...I know one thing I want to see is David and Kate together. For the reader who kept saying Jacob in place of David, remember Jacob is her twin brother
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Ellie is very attracted to David but something isn’t right, so Ellie decides to try to find out the truth. She finds out more than she bargained for. I enjoyed this book. Everything that Ellie had to deal with as her search progresses is really awesome. I love the story and plot. Characters were awesome I highly recommend. **I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
Jacob is Ellie's boss. She thinks he may have committed a crime. She and her brother decide to stake out her boss and follow him. Jacob catches them and surprises her. Ellie loves working for Jacob. He took a chance on her and hired her straight out of college. Lately she has noticed she is starting to have feelings for him. She is not sure how to approach this with her work-all-the-time boss. Jacob has many secrets he is not sure if he should share with her. She is supposed to be a part of a future partnership with him. How to tell her? Will she believe? Can he go forward in a different relationship with her if she turns him down? So much going on in this book. I do not want to give spoiler so I will just summarize for you that it is an amazing read!! I had trouble putting it down. Ellie and Jacob have sexy banter and sizzling kisses that make reading worthwhile! This is the first book in the Equilibrium series. The 2nd book is out now, The Light. I cannot wait to continue the next story!!
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
The Core, Equilibrium I, Kate Thomas Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal , New Adult. Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews This sounded an interesting read – and it was. Its something new in the fantasy/paranormal genre, well at least to me. Its about people with special abilities who are chosen to keep the balance in the world, the mix of good and bad. I liked the connection between Ellie and David, and his enigmatic way of speaking. Its as if everything he says as an answer is really another question. No wonder poor Ellie was so confused. There are so many secrets, and he takes her on a journey of discovery where she meets others, and needs to make a choice – is there really a way to say no though? It’s a shortish read and hard to rate I feel, as its really just an intro into what’s coming, a taster of what could develop. We can see already that her background may not be as she’s always thought, and I wonder how she will explain this to her brother and mum, whether they will have any part to play or remain “normal” people? I want to read more – its certainly whetted my appetite, and though David suggests there can be nothing between him and Ellie on a personal level, that its purely professional from now, there’s a definite attraction for both of them and I wonder how that’s going to work out with them needing to work closely together. It promises to be a fun read, something different from the usual and though its not classes as a romance I can’t help hoping one develops! Stars: Four – I think its going to develop into a five star series but at the moment Its still a clear work in progress and this novel felt a bit incomplete to me. Started books do have a hard job when a series begins. ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.