The Crane Dance: Taking Flight in Midlife

The Crane Dance: Taking Flight in Midlife

by William R. Finger


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Crane Dance: Taking Flight in Midlife by William R. Finger

Like many men today, Bill Finger experienced the perfect storm of job restructuring, shifting gender roles, and a pink slip. With young children, little money, and a fuzzy career vision, he hit an emotional bottom. Only then did he come to grips with long buried grief and guilt as a white Mississippian and Conscientious Objector as well as a family history of depression. He came to realize how his responses to major life transitions had hobbled him in dealing with fatherhood, breadwinning, and vocation. Drawing on the energies of the men’s movement, the power of the expressive arts, and the quiet force of meditation – along with antidepressants and therapy – he discovered a new vitality for the second half of life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780996587518
Publisher: William Finger
Publication date: 08/01/2016
Pages: 296
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.67(d)

About the Author

William (Bill) Finger has been editor of a public policy quarterly, a consultant for the N.C. Legislature, and from 1989 to 2013, a writer and communications manager at an international public health organization. He grew up in Jackson, Mississippi, went to Duke University, was a Peace Corps volunteer in India, and completed a Masters in Social Work in 2002 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Since 1977, he has lived with his wife in Raleigh, NC, where they raised their two children.

Table of Contents

Book 1. GOING IN (1969-1971) 1
Chapter 1. No Fair Going to Sleep 1
Chapter 2. A Cold Winter Flame 16
Book 2. AWARENESS (1988-1989) 29
Chapter 3. The Journey is at Hand 29
Chapter 4. A Man and His House 38
Chapter 5. A Good Word for Darkness 47
Chapter 6. Quick as a Flash 55
Chapter 7. Digging into Numbness 65
Chapter 8. Pools of Grief 73
Book 3. ACCEPTANCE (1990-1993) 85
Chapter 9. Gargoyles Become My Friends 85
Chapter 10. Carrying My Mother's Depression 95
Chapter 11. Rage Erupts but Roots Remain 106
Chapter 12. Dancing with Allies 116
Chapter 13. Teflon Drug Goes to Work 138
Chapter 14. An Old Pair of Loafers 144
Chapter 15. I'm Not Ashamed 153
Table of Contents
Book 4. ACTION (1993-2002) 165
Chapter 16. Grace, Grief, and Grandeur 165
Chapter 17. Prozac and the Real Me 175
Chapter 18. Conversation with a Hawk 186
Chapter 19. Mindful of Segregation, Work, and Joy 200
Chapter 20. Breathing In, My Breath Goes Deep 209
Chapter 21. Gratitude Opens the Door 217
Chapter 22. From Dis-Ease to Manhood 229
Chapter 23. Standing in the River 242
Book 5. RETURN (2003) 257
Chapter 24. Slow Down, You Move Too Fast 257
Chapter 25. Coming Home 269
Acknowledgments 276
Resources that

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews