The Forget-Me-Not Summer (Silver Sisters Series #1)

The Forget-Me-Not Summer (Silver Sisters Series #1)

Paperback(Reprint)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Forget-Me-Not Summer (Silver Sisters Series #1) by Leila Howland, Ji-Hyuk Kim

This charming story about three California sisters spending the summer on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks—as a starred ALA Booklist review raved—and The Mother-Daughter Book Club.

Though Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily Silver couldn’t be more different, they’re all excited about summer vacation. Twelve-year-old Marigold is hoping to get her first kiss from her big crush, while Zinnia, eleven, will most likely spend her time in Marigold’s shadow. And five-year-old Lily, though angelic, has a knack for stirring up mischief wherever she goes.

But all of their plans come crashing down when the sisters’ parents send them to Cape Cod to visit their Aunt Sunny. Small-town life is not what these LA girls had in mind. They must adjust, however, to things like sharing a room and living without a TV. With the help of Aunt Sunny’s cheery disposition and her yummy brownies, though, the girls are quickly won over, and before Marigold, Zinnie, and Lily know it, they’re cracking lobster shells at clambakes, making new friends, and even organizing a local talent show.

Full of moments both humorous and reflective, The Forget-Me-Not Summer is a story about three girls facing their fears, adjusting to change, and learning how to band together as the strongest version of themselves: sisters. Be sure to catch the sequel, The Brightest Stars of Summer, for more fun on Cape Cod!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062318701
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/17/2016
Series: Leila Howland's Silver Sisters Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 209,125
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile: 790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Leila Howland was born and raised in Providence, Rhode Island. A graduate of Georgetown University, Leila spent five years acting in New York, where she was a company member of the award-winning Flea Theater in Tribeca. The Forget-Me-Not Summer is her middle grade debut. She has also written two YA novels: Nantucket Blue, for which she was named a Publishers Weekly "Flying Start," and Nantucket Red. Leila now lives in Los Angeles with her husband, baby boy, and two dogs.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Forget-Me-Not Summer 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even tho it looks kiddish its not. Im 13 and i enjoyed it. Its funny relateable entertaining and it has just the right amount if romance. Well my point us buy it its worth it. Btw its around 260 pages long depending how big u put ur font
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was very imaginative. There was a time when I read all night. I just HAD to know what would happen next.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Synopsis- Marigold, 12, Zinnia, 11, and Lily, 5, are sisters. They have big plans for the summer. Lily is planning on being her very best [mischievous] five-year-old self, Marigold is trying to hook an acting agent and maybe get a boyfriend, and Lily will probably be Marigold’s second shadow. But when their movie script writing father is going to an out-of-the-way location to assist in the filming of a documentary on redwood trees, and their mother might have a job opportunity in Canada for a few weeks, all of their summer plans get shattered. The girls will be flying cross-country to Massachusetts, to live with their Great-Aunt Sunny for a few weeks. She lives in a small house (with no TV!) in a small town, and they lived in L.A. Not only are they suffering from culture-shock, but they have to share a room! Will they survive this monstrosity? What I Thought- Overall, this was a good book. I can understand that Marigold is a budding (no pun intended) child actress, but I don’t know if I like how obsessed she was with having a boyfriend. She’s 12 in the book. It was just weird. Zinnia was a great main character. She was funny, and had to cope with being the middle child of an actress big sister, and being what should be a perfect little sister. That was believable and it worked. The story was good, but seemed to take a back seat to the character development. It took a long time to get to know the characters. Still, there was a plot and it was realistic and fit well in the story (Zinnia needs to write a play and find a cast for her play by a deadline for a local talent show, Marigold wants to get in a movie, etc.). That was nice. All in all, my favorite character was Aunt Sunny. She was the awesome aunt living a simple, fun life in a small town. Plus, the book includes a recipe for the brownies she makes. :) *NOTE* I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I &hearts this book!! It is SO GOOD!!!! If you haven't read it, you really should. &hearts &phone &simile &star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
o------:::::::::::::::::::::::::::