The Huntress: A Novel

The Huntress: A Novel

by Kate Quinn

Paperback

$12.17 $16.99 Save 28% Current price is $12.17, Original price is $16.99. You Save 28%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, March 27

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062740373
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/26/2019
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 65
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Kate Quinn is a native of Southern California. She attended Boston University, where she earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in classical voice. A lifelong history buff, she has written four novels in the Empress of Rome Saga and two books set in the Italian Renaissance detailing the early years of the infamous Borgia clan. All have been translated into multiple languages. She and her husband now live in San Diego with two black dogs named Caesar and Calpurnia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Huntress: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
gaele 25 days ago
After the war several groups were dispatched from the allies to bring war criminals to justice, everyone knows of Nuremberg and the trials for the Nazis, but what I hadn’t known, before this book, was that Russians were also being sought, most peculiarly women from the 46th Taman Guards Night Bomber regiment – women running combat bombing missions targeting Germany during the war. Brutal times and even more shockingly, brutal women, highlighted by the search for The Huntress, responsible for many horrible crimes including leading 6 Jewish children and one escaped POW into a cabin in the woods, feeding them before murdering them, and moving on. She’d disappeared during the war, and the story is of the people hunting her. Ian and Tony along with Ian’s wife Nina, a former member of the Taman Guards are hunting the woman named ‘The Huntress” all gather in Boston, where they meet Jordan – a young woman who wants to be a photojournalist and is intrigued with the allied hunters’ quest. Four people ostensibly working together with a singular purpose, the story is told in three points of view. Jordan and Ian are more ‘current” to the actual hunt in the 1950’s, with Ian’s search being highly personal as his brother was killed by this self-same huntress during her spree. Nina’s point of view, as a member of the Taman Guards has multiple reasons to want the Huntress captured, preferably dead, and her story is ‘real time’ in the war years, spanning the years between 37 and 44. Each of the stories are tension filled – either with the actual hunt, or the reader wondering what will befall each character next, and the dialogue feels plausible, while the factual information shared all fit together to make a cohesive package, and it was fascinating to find these bits of history that I hadn’t known before. What emerges here is classic Quinn, with the well-defined characters, each a mix of self-serving and looking at the ‘bigger picture’, with descriptions and some over-dramatization, as well as the mystery surrounding the identity of “The Huntress” did dance with overplaying a hand, and the tension often fell off as description took precedence over action and revelations. It wasn’t enough to frustrate me overmuch, but the inconsistency in pacing and tension did make this more a four than a five star read. But – I never knew much of Russia’s wartime force or their use of women in combat, and while intrinsically I know that war breeds beastly behavior, it was all the more shocking when relayed by and performed by a woman, apparently our baser instincts are not limited to the males of the species. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous 25 days ago
This was one of my first ARC editions in exchange for an honest review. I am hoping it is not my last! Kate Quinn does such a fantastic job of bringing history to life with her novels. While listening to The Alice Network walking my dogs, I got so entranced in the story I actually shouted out loud when something surprised me. I scared my dogs to death! You need to know that going into this review. For me, that book would have been 10 stars. It is SO hard to live up to a book that hits all the right places for a reader. I want the review to be honest, and not all books are 5 stars. I save those for the very very best. Having said that, this was a wonderful book. The characters were all very well developed with their flaws and their perfections. They worked together in a way that you could believe. I love the format of alternating between viewpoints. We heard from Jordan - a young girl living in Boston with her widowed father. He meets a woman, Anneliese, and the two marry. Jordan has a very active imagination and is not so sure about Anneliese at the start. Anneliese has a daughter, Ruth. Jordan loves her from the start. The next viewpoint is Ian Graham. He was a war correspondent who has turned into a Nazi hunter. He is seeking justice for his brother, Sebastian, who was killed in the war. The last point of view is Nina. She was raised in Siberia and ends up joining the Russian air force as a "night witch". The three stories come together beautifully thru the course of this book. If you enjoy historical fiction, you will enjoy this as well!
Anonymous 17 days ago
expertly+woven+story+of+three+women+whose+lives+intersect+at+different+times+and+places.+I++couldn%27t+put+it+down%2C+finishing+one+chapter+after+another+as+quickly+as+possible+to+find+out+how+the+story+would+end.+
Anonymous 6 days ago
Could+not+put+it+down%21%21%0A
JennaBookish 16 days ago
My thanks to William Morrow for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher. Kate Quinn has such a remarkable gift when it comes to creating seriously captivating characters. It's been almost a week since I finished reading and I keep finding myself thinking about Nina, a ruthless, Nazi-killing hellcat who probably really needs a hug. I love Nina to death, and her adoration for real-life Night Witch Marina Raskova had me wanting to learn more about these women. At 560 pages, The Huntress is a somewhat lengthy read, and I found myself annoyed every time I had to put it down. Despite the backdrop of war and violence, the story isn't super action packed or fast-paced. It's a bit of a slow burn and very character driven. I (obviously) found Nina to be the most compelling character, but the story is told through three separate point of view characters. Nina's perspective takes place during the war, whereas Jordan and Ian's perspectives take place after, during Ian's hunt for the infamous Nazi known as The Huntress. Nina exists in both timelines, as she teams up with Ian, but her direct perspective is limited to her life leading up to the war through the first day she meets Ian. Nina comes from a remarkably dysfunctional family, with a drunken and abusive father and siblings she describes as more or less feral. She is damaged in a lot of ways, but her hardships also prepared her for the harshness of war. Ian also made for a really compelling character. No spoilers here, but he has a personal vendetta that fuels a lot of his desire to take down The Huntress. He has a background as a war correspondent, and gives off a distinct air of survivor's guilt. He saw a lot of atrocities during his reporting on the war, and I think Quinn really nailed down the psychology of what that can do to a person. Ian, like a lot of people who has endured trauma, has internalized this idea that he hasn't fully "earned" his emotional disturbances. Soldiers fought and died on the front lines; he wrote articles about it. In the aftermath of trauma, it's sadly so common to see people downplay what happened to them, to dismiss their rights to their own feelings on the basis that someone else had it worse. Ian exemplifies this mindset and I really appreciated seeing an author portray a character like this in a way that seems to validate that struggle. Jordan, the final POV character, is a normal young girl living in America who has her life turned upside-down by The Huntress and those who are searching for her. She has suspicions about her new step-mother early on, which she buries to keep her father happy. A lot of her story line, however, has little to do with the rest of the book. She is a budding young photographer who wants to create a career for herself in a time when women were largely expected to get married and be housewives. She sees nearly every scene as if she's looking through her camera, constantly mentally framing shots even when she doesn't have her camera with her. I absolutely enjoyed every page of this story. Quinn's last novel, The Alice Network, was a ridiculously tough act to follow, but The Huntress did not disappoint in the slightest. This novel is an excellent choice for fans of The Lost Girls of Paris, Lilac Girls. and of course, Kate Quinn's past work.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Great+characters+and+plot.+
Queenbethanny 22 days ago
A gripping tale after WWII of a team fighting to bring Nazi war criminals to justice. The elusive Huntress has brought together a team vowing to find her and punish her for unspeakable crimes. The story keeps you engaged and turning the page due to its telling from different perspectives and timeframes.
Anonymous 16 days ago
What+a+great+book.+