The Invisibles: A Novel

The Invisibles: A Novel

by Cecilia Galante

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Invisibles: A Novel by Cecilia Galante

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship—a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.

Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on? 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062363510
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/04/2015
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 798,369
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Cecilia Galante, who received an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Goddard College, Vermont, is the author of eightyoung adult novels and a children’s chapter-book series. She has been the recipient of many awards, including an NAIBA Best Book of the Year, and an Oprah’s Teen Read Selection for her first novel, The Patron Saint of Butterflies. She lives in Kingston, Pennsylvania with her three children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Invisibles: A Novel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
This story just jumps right into the friendships of the four girls: Monica, Nora, Grace & Ozzie. We read mostly about Nora and where she is later, after the others have gone on. She suddenly hears from the group of girls wanting to get together. Nora is just trying to live her life in her own way. Now with the girls asking to get back together after so long - and with no warning - since none of them have been in touch in so many years. Should she give them a chance? If a reunion in Chicago is a way to face the past...can these 4 women put to bed the old pain and fears? Can Nora forgive and move on? Will it tear them all apart? I was kind of humbled by the simple and yet profound way the author approached the topic. Highly unusual for a story to take this direction and it works, somehow. ***This ARC was given by Edelweiss and its publisher for an honest review.
bookloverfl12 More than 1 year ago
This story was very touching and made you really think about what some of our youth grow up facing and their experiences, especially those in the care of others and not family members. It made me think of the TV show, The Fosters, which is about a multi-ethnic family mix of biological and foster kids. The bonds between female friends is strong and can last a lifetime. It is an unspoken bond for females. Even if you lose touch with a friend, when they reach to you in their time of need, you make it a point to be there for them. You never know what someone has been through and this book shows you that the past can define who you are today.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Four women who were thrust together into a girls home in high school made a big impact on each other and then departed and 15 years later are reuniting to help one recover. Each of these women had a horrible home life which led them all to the girls home and it was interesting to see how each of them reacted to the negative home life and the lack of parents in their developing years. With most of the action taking place in the present as these women reunited, I enjoyed the few moments that took the action back into the past to see how this foursome was created and then how they grew to depend on each other. I also loved finding out what events took place to put these four girls into the home in the first place. I always love reading books where friends are family and if you don't have a great family life you kind input friends to make a family unit.
gaele More than 1 year ago
People come together and form friendships for all sorts of reasons, and often being in a terrible circumstance together builds a connection that is rock solid. Such is the case for Monica, Ozzie Nora and Grace, friends since their teens, while their lives never quite seemed to ‘work out’ there is support and comfort in their unbreakable friendship. There is not a real introduction into this story: you jump right into the action, and background information and secrets are revealed through flashbacks and from current interactions. Each character comes with a unique set of issues, some from their traumatic past, others from mistakes that seem to be as a result of it, and the reveal of these issues is slowly doled out in drops, bite by bite. For this is a story to be savored, you wonder what issues are because of their pasts and what they have overcome in spite of it. Emotionally available, the women are intriguing and interesting. Primarily, this is a work that celebrates friendship and survival as these women are struggling to move forward in their lives, knowing that the other three will always be there. Far from their troubles and time disrupting their friendship, their bonds remain strong as they confront the ultimate question: how much does trauma and adversity you faced as a child impact your adult life, and can you ever move beyond the problems. A wonderful read that will keep you engaged and intrigued. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.