The Little French Guesthouse: The perfect feel good summer read

The Little French Guesthouse: The perfect feel good summer read

by Helen Pollard

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Little French Guesthouse: The perfect feel good summer read by Helen Pollard

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it?
When thirty-one-year-old Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife.

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery.

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it?

Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.

Praise for The Little French Guesthouse:
‘Like sunshine on a cloudy day this is a book to warm your heart. I loved it.’ Shellyback Books

I loved every single page of this book and didn't want the story to end. It had me hooked from start to finish, had me giggling on the bus (rather embarrassing). It is one of those warm, cosy books that needs coffee and croissants.’ The Reading Shed

Utterly delicious, I loved escaping into this delightful French community … definitely a feel good book that had me with a smile on my face and laughing out loud … You’ve just got to love Rupert ... With the sexy gardener providing a great distraction from Nathan’s desertion, new friends and new possibilities this is a real page turner that I thoroughly enjoyed … a truly wonderfully crafted novel that I highly recommend for its amazing characters, plot and storytelling that make it a brilliant story to escape into. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to be available, I definitely want to read it, please!’ Splashes into Books

From the very beginning to the very end, I absolutely adored this book … If I ever found myself in a jam I would want a Rupert in my life for sure (even with his persistence and tendency to butt-in)! The emotional journey that ended up being The Little French Guesthouse is sometimes sad, sometimes infuriating and sometimes hilarious … and abso-freaking-lutely worthy of a comfy chair, a cozy blanket and a nice cuppa.’ Well Read Pirate Queen

'Could not put down this fabulous book, peppered with humour and characters you can relate to. A wonderful, laugh out loud summer read. One to share with friends and recommend to strangers…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910751879
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 04/28/2016
Series: La Cour des Roses , #1
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 194,623
File size: 588 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Little French Guesthouse: The perfect feel good summer read 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking foward to the sequel. An easy read that puts you in the middle of the story. I'm moving to France!
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review **I was given an ebook copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review** I felt this story had a slow start. I don't know...it wasn't badly written. It just felt a little overdone, cliché. We've got Emmy, a good English lady who is in a long-term relationship with a blockhead named Nathan. The story starts with Emmy looking for Gloria (Rupert's wife) to get her to call an ambulance for Rupert and she walks in on her boyfriend and Gloria going at it. Well, that actually is a unique way to start a break-up. They are on holiday in France and this is what he pulls? When he leaves her for Gloria, she stays behind to help Rupert get better and run his business as she is still on holiday. She feels responsible as her boyfriend helped cause this mess. Emmy is really a thoughtful, lovely person. Once I got over it feeling contrived, it really did take off for me. I loved all the characters, and it was such a sweet story. I even teared up a little at a speech Rupert gives about Emmy. I fell in love with this story by the end and I didn't want to leave any more than Emmy did - lol. I'd call this a beach read, it's quick and not too heavy and light on the romance.
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Emmy books a vacation for she and her boyfriend to a B&B called La Cour des Roses in the French countryside, hoping to regain a little passion and excitement in what has become a rather stale relationship. Unfortunately for her, he gets caught en flagrante with the B&B owners wife, Gloria, while her husband, Rupert, is having a heart attack downstairs. Nathan ends up leaving Emmy for Gloria, and Emmy, having the majority of her vacation left and also feeling guilty about Gloria leaving her older, ailing husband behind, stays to help him run La Cour des Roses. A story that starts out feeling like a romance ends up becoming a story about finding yourself, not settling, and going after your dreams. Emmy and Rupert, the owner of La Cour des Roses end up becoming great friends and Rupert becomes a life mentor of sorts. Emmy, away from her marketing job in the big city, enjoys the friendships she makes in the small French village. Can she go back to her old life? She and Nathan were not only a couple but also worked together, so there is the possible embarrassment of their broken relationship waiting for her back home also hanging over her head. Once Emmy got over wining about Nathan cheating on her, got on with life and discovered who she was without Nathan, I really enjoyed this book. Rupert had a sly wit, and brute charm that made him completely likable. In my mind I pictured a Gerard Depardieu type swilling wine and doling out advise to a young naive Anne Hathaway. There was a bit more to this book than the cover led me to believe I'd find inside of it and I was pleasantly pleased! I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Bookoutre through NetGalley for my honest review.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.