The Maw: A Novel

The Maw: A Novel

by Taylor Zajonc

Hardcover

$22.49 $24.99 Save 10% Current price is $22.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Maw: A Novel by Taylor Zajonc

For fans of Clive Cussler and Michael Crichton, a thrilling tale of an underground expedition to the deep . . . and the ultimate struggle for survival.

Milo Luttrell never expected to step inside the mouth of an ancient cave in rural Tanzania. After all, he's a historian—not an archaeologist. Summoned under the guise of a mysterious life-changing opportunity, Milo suddenly finds himself in the midst of an expedition into the largest underground system in Africa, helmed by a brash billionaire-turned-exploration guru and his elite team of cavers. It's a once-in-a-lifetime chance to finally solve a century-old disappearance of the famed explorer Lord Riley DeWar, an enigmatic figure who both made—and nearly ruined—Milo's fledgling career.

Determined to make the most of his second chance, Milo joins the team and begins a harrowing descent into one of Earth's last secrets: a dangerous, pitch-black realm of twisting passages and ancient fossils nearly two thousand feet underground. But when a storm hits the surface base camp, stranding the cavers and washing away supplies, all communication to the outside world is lost. As the remaining resources dwindle and members of the team begin to exhibit strange and terrifying abilities, Milo must brave the encroaching darkness to unearth the truth behind DeWar's fascination with the deep—and why he never left.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781510732407
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 06/05/2018
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 344,302
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Taylor Zajonc’s real-life adventures as a maritime historian and deep-sea shipwreck expert nearly exceed those of his fictional counterparts. Beyond his record-setting submersible dive to a three-mile-deep archaeological site located in the heart of the Bermuda Triangle, Taylor has contributed research and methodology for some of the most fascinating shipwreck finds of the past decade. His previous novels include The Wrecking Crew and Red Sun Rogue. Taylor lives in Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Maw: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
SheTreadsSoftly More than 1 year ago
The Maw by Taylor Zajonc is a highly recommended action/adventure story set in a supercave in Tanzania. Milo Luttrell is a historian who is mysteriously invited to Tanzania under the pretense of a project that may help him keep his job. When he arrives he discovers he has been invited by Dale Brunsfield, a billionaire explorer, to join an expedition that will be exploring a new supercave. Milo has been invited because of his research into the life of famed explorer Lord Riley DeWar. Dale believes that DeWar's last, lost expedition may have been to this cave and he needs Milo along for his expertise. Milo, who has no spelunking experience, is joining the team of seven that just happens to include his ex-girlfriend and a reality TV show star. This is a thrilling adventure story that is full of intrigue and suspense. There are enough complications and emergencies in the narrative to leave you expecting a unanticipated catastrophe around even corner. The descriptive passages make you even more cognizant of the unknown discovers awaiting along with the danger as the situation deteriorates for the expedition. Zajonc keeps the pace quick, moving the plot along, as the challenges mount. The Maw will hold your attention throughout. Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Skyhorse Publishing.