The Monster Of Selkirk Book II: The Heart Of The Forest

The Monster Of Selkirk Book II: The Heart Of The Forest

by C.E. Clayton


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 26


Tallis is learning how to deal with loss, and violence as she and her friends traverse the forests of Selkirk trying to find the reason behind the elven uprising. Not to mention why they keep hissing her name. But the further into the forests they go, Tallis is finding that the elves' depravity can still surprise her, and thoroughly test the bonds of friendship, family, and love.

Tallis's journey eventually leads to answers they're not prepared for. Now Tallis begins to wonder just who she really is, and if she's the evil that will end up destroying Selkirk. But she cannot stop to process these revelations, as an unforeseen betrayal lands those she loves at the feet of the very monster responsible for all the hurt and heartbreak.

Coming face to face with her foe, Tallis discovers all too late she has no idea how to deal with this level of pain, and death. One way or another, the monster's path ends here, and all Tallis can hope to do is bring those she loves safely out of the heart of the forest.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781978223134
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 10/11/2017
Pages: 346
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.77(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Monster Of Selkirk Book II: The Heart Of The Forest 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Roxie Prince More than 1 year ago
I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This book continues the Selkirk series with just as much wonderful gusto as the first. The world of Selkirk is just as expansive — maybe even more so — than in the first book, and we get to know and love the cast of characters on an even deeper level. Tallis discovers her origin story in this book, and while I suspected it pretty early on in the first book, it still came as a delight. Clayton somehow delivers it both delicately while maintaining the suspense that has built up over the course of the series. Once Tallis knows, it’s almost impossible not to ride the roller coaster of emotions she goes on. There’s nothing unbelievable or unrealistic about what Tallis goes through, emotionally, even though her story is quite fantastic. Clayton does a phenomenal job of keeping her characters very, very human. My favorite part of this book was when Tallis was struggling to handle a deep, poignant moment of grief and Tomas tries to comfort her. She gets upset with him, saying that all she needs is for everyone to just respect that what she needs is to just be in her grief. Not to try and make her feel better because her sadness makes them uncomfortable. That was such a profound notion. One you don’t often see in young adult fiction, but one we need to see more because it’s important. It’s important that young people understand it’s okay for them to be sad and to be sad for as long as they need to be sad, especially when something especially terrible happens to them, no matter how it makes others around them feel. And conversely, when you’re the one on the other side — when someone you love has been hurt and is grieving, it’s okay to want them to feel better, but it’s also sometimes a good thing to let them have their space to grieve. What a lovely part of this book. Thank you, C.E. Again, I cannot wait for the third book in this series. Clayton knows how to write fantasy. Heck, Clayton knows how to write, period.