The Other Einstein

The Other Einstein

by Marie Benedict

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17

Overview

From beloved New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Benedict comes the story of a not-so-famous scientist who not only loved Albert Einstein, but also shaped the theories that brought him lasting renown.

In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict's The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. This novel resurrects Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated. Was she simply Einstein's sounding board, an assistant performing complex mathematical equations? Or did she contribute something more?

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. Then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Marie Benedict illuminates one pioneering woman in STEM, returning her to the forefront of history's most famous scientists.

"The Other Einstein takes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."—Bustle

Recommended by PopSugar, Bustle, Booklist, Library Journal and more!

Also by Marie Benedict:
Carnegie's Maid
The Only Woman in the Room
Lady Clementine

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492647584
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 08/29/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 12,106
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Marie Benedict is the author of The Other Einstein, Carnegie's Maid, The Only Woman in the Room, and Lady Clementine. She is a lawyer with more than ten years' experience as a litigator at two of the country's premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies. Visit her online at authormariebenedict.com.

Customer Reviews