The Prey of Gods

The Prey of Gods

by Nicky Drayden

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden

*A Wall Street Journal "Summer Reading: One expert. One book" pick for 2017!

*The RT Book Reviews "June 2017: Seal of Excellence" pick!

*A B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog "Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far" pick! 

*A Book Riot Best Books of 2017 Pick!

*A Vulture "The 10 Best Fantasy Books of 2017" Pick!

From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor.

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes—the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:

A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .

An emerging AI uprising . . .

And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.

It’s up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there’s a future left to worry about.

Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart . . . even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062493033
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/13/2017
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 215,872
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Nicky Drayden’s short fiction has appeared in publications such as Shimmer and Space and Time. She is a systems analyst and resides in Austin, Texas, where being weird is highly encouraged, if not required.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Prey of Gods 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
OliviaSitter More than 1 year ago
The Prey of Gods deserves ALL the hype! It’s a rollercoaster through genres, emotions, and unique, realistic characters. The surreal meets with the bizarre in an explosion of action, hilarity, heartbreak, affirmation, and excitement. Accelerating alarmingly fast, the pace is quick and heart-pounding with each turn of the page until you feel like you’re heading straight towards a disaster and WAM! Climax! Falling action! Possible hook for a sequel! Worth noting is Drayden’s fantastic use of voice. Each chapter is told from one of six different main characters, and even if Drayden hadn’t listed whose perspective it was being told through at the beginning of the chapter, the reader can tell the characters’ unique voices apart. Personality-wise, each character is likable in their own way, with understandable motivations and flaws. Side characters are not excluded! All characters feel real, with fathomable reactions to the fantastic. Mixed in with daring twists and unexpected turns are beautifully ordinary details, like the mural on Muzi’s wall or Sydney noting that her boss’ coffee always tastes faintly of acetone. With everything that’s happening, tidbits like these add so much depth and realism to the story. As outlandish as certain aspects of The Prey of Gods is, it still feels true, as if it could be happening before your very eyes. Nicky Drayden’s debut novel is everything you never knew you needed in a book. I am beyond grateful for stumbling upon the first chapter on her blog, which led to me preordering it that day and becoming a part of her launch team, which in turn led to my local library obtaining a copy for the public. The Prey of Gods is the perfect, trippy summer read, and I cannot praise it enough. Check it out today!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Worth the time and money. Well done.
BenT-Gaidin More than 1 year ago
No energy to give this a proper talking-about, but it features a gay couple, a pop idol, and a trans politician as awakening gods, and a message about support and communication, and the importance of human connectedness. Four out of five thumbs up.