The Screaming Statue (Curiosity House Series #2)

The Screaming Statue (Curiosity House Series #2)

by Lauren Oliver, H. C. Chester


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Screaming Statue (Curiosity House Series #2) by Lauren Oliver, H. C. Chester

In this second book in the New York Times bestselling Curiosity House series by exceptional author Lauren Oliver and shadowy recluse H. C. Chester, four extraordinary children must avenge their friend’s death, try to save their home, and unravel the secrets of their past . . . before their past unravels them.

Pippa, Sam, Thomas, and Max are happy to be out of harm’s way now that the notorious villain Nicholas Rattigan is halfway across the country in Chicago. But unfortunately their home, Dumfreys’s Dime Museum of Freaks, Oddities, and Wonders, is in danger of closing its doors forever.

But their troubles only get worse. The four friends are shocked when their beloved friend, famous sculptor Siegfried Eckleberger, is murdered. As they investigate, they find clues that his death may be tied to the murder of a rich and powerful New York heiress, as well as to their own pasts.

This is the second book in the series and so boasts many wondrous and mysterious things inside, such as:

  • Howie, the “Human Owl,” whose head turns just about all the way around
  • A mean but important house cat
  • Some perfectly ghastly wax sculptures
  • A very thin boy named Chubby
  • An awful mechanical leg

It continues not to have:

  • A cautionary tale about running with scissors
  • A list of time-consuming chores
  • Nutritious and decidedly not delicious vegetables
  • A perfectly sweet bedtime story about a wayward bunny
  • Two wet kisses on the cheek from your aunt Mildred

Learn more about the series online at

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062270856
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/14/2017
Series: Curiosity House Series , #2
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 295,930
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile: 790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Lauren Oliver is the author of the teen novels Replica, Before I Fall, Panic, Vanishing Girls, and the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages and are New York Times and international bestselling novels. She is also the author of two standalone novels for middle grade readers, The Spindlers and Liesl & Po, which was an E. B. White Read Aloud Award nominee; the Curiosity House series; and a novel for adults, Rooms. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, Lauren Oliver is also the cofounder of the boutique literary development company Paper Lantern Lit. You can visit her online at

H. C. Chester is a collector of unusual relics who came into possession of the artifacts of the museum’s estate and discovered the story of the four children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Screaming Statue (Curiosity House Series #2) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE it!
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
First, I want to say that these books are on the darker side of things. There is murder/death/etc. discussed freely throughout the book, and the characters are usually in dismal situations. It’s a unique perspective for a murder “mystery”, as most of the characters seem sort of used to sudden death, and just take it as a part of life. Add in the fact that the world sees them as freaks, and you can see why everyone seems grumpy. Having said that, the authors have skillfully crafted a quirky, enjoyable story. The characters are unique, well-developed and, despite most being “oddities”, are rather realistic and believable. I really liked the feel of the world that was created, I imagine it about early 1900’s (I couldn’t tell you when exactly, though – and I like that!). This writing duo writes with an edgy, sarcastic type of humor that skates the line between funny and dark. I can’t wait for book 3! *Note* I voluntarily read an advanced reader copy of this book