This Could Change Everything

This Could Change Everything

by Jill Mansell

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492664222
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 06/05/2018
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 165,823
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

This Could Change Everything 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
runnergirl83 3 months ago
One letter changes Essie's life forever..... Essie writes a letter up as a joke that was never meant to get sent, and then it does, to everyone in her mailbox. The letter includes a brief rant about her boyfriend and his mother--who also happens to be her boss. After the letter is sent, she loses her job, her boyfriend, and her apartment (she was living with her boyfriend.) Essie goes on to find a new job, a new apartment, and makes new friends along the way. In the long term, it ends up being a good thing that this letter was sent as she eventually becomes happier than she would have been had she stayed with that loser boyfriend and job she didn't care for. This was a nice, light, quick story. A bit of of fluffy read, not likely to be memorable, but still enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Jill Mansell’s for years and this story didn’t fail to capture my heart. Her characters are so well written that it comes to feel like you know them by the end of the story.
mweinreich More than 1 year ago
3.5 cutsie stars This story had quite a bit of charm Essie Phillips is a lucky girl. She has a man she loves, an upcoming marriage, and lots of life happening things opening up before her eyes. All is perfect, well...outside the fact that her future mother in law hates her but other than that (and the fact she works for said upcoming MIL), life looks wonderful. Did you ever receive one of those holiday letters informing the world of how truly awesome the sender's life was? They have the perfect life, the super successful children, a husband who is devoted, vacations, and on and on. Don't you sometimes wish you could send a letter that told the truth? That your life wasn't that great, that you were getting fat, that your bird died, and that you hate you mother in law? Of course you would never send it though. Well Essie decides to have some fun and writes a letter that tells the truth never in a million years intending to send it. But, as is often the case a mistake happens and zoom that letter is sent and the damage is done. Essie's life is over, well not really but she now has to move on and move on she does. Essie moves to another town and meets a bevy of likeable characters and her life which looked desperately awful turns into something she never expected. This was a charming story, a lovely sweet tale where when you are at your lowest the only place you can go is up. So if you are in need of a pleasant read, one to take to the beach, the pool, or on vacation, this might be the one for you. It is a bit contrived but hey who doesn't like a book where you can enjoy the quiet and peacefulness of a sacchariferous story?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is recommended for those who enjoy women's fiction with engaging and endearing characters, a few plot lines, and confusion until, at last, order (and relationships) are restored. In this one, Essie thinks that she has it all. She is in love with and living with a partner whose flaws and family she excuses. However, the relationship breaks up when a private document is seen by far too many. So...no relationship, no home and Essie must regroup. She finds a place to live with an elderly woman in return for household help. Zillah is a force to reckon with. She teaches Essie a lot about life. Essie has a prior history with bar owner, Lucas. She is now his employee. Clearly there is an attraction but can their relationship work out? Even if you think that you know the answer, you will enjoy the getting there. There are several other main characters including Essie's best friend, Scarlett, photographer Conor, Essie's brother, Lucas's girlfriend, Alice (who knew Zillah many years ago)...enough to keep you busy. A truly appealing part of this novel told of how Zillah, Conor and Essie made the dreams of those in hospice care come true. The stories are touching. I only wish that such services really existed. All in all, Ms Mansell comes through yet again. Add this to your beach reads this summer and enjoy! Thank you NetGalley and Sourcebooks!
lauriesophee More than 1 year ago
"Every day, we do things that are capable of changing everything, that's what makes life exciting." I really enjoyed this book of love, hope, wishes and happiness. There are many wonderful characters in this story and my absolute favorite is Zillah who at eighty three, has a zest for life and a love for people. She has a way of drawing in anyone who meets her. She made me love her! The descriptions of the countryside, town of Bath and the the Red House bar made me feel as if I was actually there. It's a terrific novel! I recommend it!
JerseyGirlBookReviews More than 1 year ago
In This Could Change Everything, author Jill Mansell weaves a lighthearted British romantic tale of friendship, love and second chances. Set in Bath, the reader is easily drawn into this witty and caring story as they follow a group of friends who help each other navigate the trials and tribulations of life and love. Twenty-five-year-old Essie Phillips wrote a Christmas round robin newsletter that was meant only for her best friend Scarlett's eyes ... but when the email is mistakenly sent to everyone on her email list, Essie's world is turned upside down, and she is forced to move forward in a new direction. Thirty-two-year-old Conor McCauley is an ex-attorney who changed his career to pursue his passion for landscaping fulltime and photography on the side. What Conor is missing in life is a romantic relationship, and a series of events will lead him to a chance at finding true love. Lucas Brook is the owner of the Red House pub. Lucas' pub is successful, but a troubled family past affects his chance of having a fulfilling life, that is until he unexpectedly meets Essie and events lead to a chance at happiness and love. Finally, we have eighty-three-year-old Zillah Wash, who is the center of this group of friends. Zillah is the enchanting grande dame of their street, but she has demons from the past that haunt her, and her guilt drives her to atone for her past misbehavior by providing last wishes for terminally ill people. Together this endearing group of friends will learn that choices made could change everything! The awesome message that the author provides the reader is this wonderful quote that Scarlett states in the book: "Every day, we do things that are capable of changing everything, and that's what makes life exciting." No truer words have been spoken, this quote will make the reader ponder about the choices and decision that they make in their lives, and how that change/decision can ultimately change everything ... especially if its for the better! This Could Change Everything is a wonderful story that will keep the reader engaged as they follow each of the friends' personal journeys. I really enjoyed following each of the friends' journeys as they struggled to overcome life issues and find the determination to move forward with their lives. There was a great mixture of emotion, drama, and humor mixed in this story, you can't help but feel like you are transported right into the middle of the friends' lives! I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much I enjoyed Zilla's journey the most, this cheeky older lady made me smile and I couldn't help but appreciate her dedication to providing terminally ill people with a final wish, that act of kindness simply stirs the soul! This Could Change Everything is a lighthearted and sweet story that has enough emotional depth, drama, romance, and witty banter, that is a delightfully entertaining must-read summer tale for chick lit, romance, and women's fiction fans.
PegGlover More than 1 year ago
I have read several books by Jill Mansell and have never been disappointed. Her latest book, This Could Change Everything, is no exception. I absolutely loved it; the characters, the plot, the humor. The characters are lifelike, and crafted with, quirky personalities, raw emotion and witty dialogue. My two favorite characters are Zillah and Essie. Zillah is an eccentric and warmhearted senior, and Essie, a witty and thoughtful woman who is renting an apartment from Zillah. Essie writes a letter, which is meant for her best friend, Scarlett’s eyes only. Essie wrote about her life, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend’s mother. She never expected the letter to go viral, but it did. So within twenty-four hours, Essie’s world collapsed. She was dumped by her boyfriend and became homeless, jobless, and lonely. Essie thought her life was ruined, but in reality, it was just about to begin. Flamboyant eighty-three-year old, Zillah, has a good heart. She enjoys helping people and making their wishes come true. She wasn’t always like this, though, and the guilt for past deeds, weighed heavily on her. Zillah tried to cover the pain with loving actions, but the ache of regret, was always there, just under the surface. Although this book is a light, entertaining read, it has depth. It covers thought-provoking subjects, such as betrayal, alcoholism, survivor’s guilt, and regret. The book is not depressing, however, it’s heartwarming, touching and sprinkled with lots of humor. I finished the book in one day, because I didn’t want to put it down. I loved every page. If you’re looking to find a well-written, and enjoyable, romantic read, look no further. Highly recommended. Thank you, Sourcebooks-Landmark and NetGalley, for my advanced review copy.