Under the Egg

Under the Egg

by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.86 $7.99 Save 2% Current price is $7.86, Original price is $7.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut

When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather’s painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That’s great news for Theo, who’s struggling to hang onto her family’s two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather’s legacy of $463. There’s just one problem: Theo’s grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city—and her grandfather—that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

“Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered.” —SLJ Fuse 8 Blog

“Riveting from start to finish.” —BookPage 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142427651
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 05/26/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 90,715
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.80(d)
Lexile: 790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

In writing Under the Egg, Laura Marx Fitzgerald drew on her study of art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. She lives in Brooklyn, and this is her middle grade debut.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter Two
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Under the Egg"
by .
Copyright © 2015 Laura Marx Fitzgerald.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Under the Egg 

An Indie Next List Pick!

"It's really a very compelling read and I don't know how she did it." – Kate DiCamillo on NPR

“With surprising twists, heartwarming moments and historical facts, Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure in Under the Egg. Art enthusiast or not, any girl will love this book.” – GirlsLife.com

• "Along with the themes of research, family commitment, and Holocaust history, fans of Koningsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art." - Library Media Connection, starred review

"Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered." – Betsy Bird, SLJ Fuse 8 Blog

"A fast-paced mystery...If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." - Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history." - Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach’s Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper." - School Library Journal

"A gripping mystery with high stakes and moving historical context...[Fitzgerald's] focus on restitution and the personal value of art adds considerable depth to the narrative." - The Horn Book

"Under the Egg” is an exciting page-turner." - Deseret News

"Riveting from start to finish." - BookPage

“This mix of mystery, history and art will keep readers wondering right up to the surprising end.” – Discovery Girls 
 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Under the Egg 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Gardenseed More than 1 year ago
This is a hard to put down mystery, but the end is somewhat inconclusive. How will the thirteen year old heroine manage? Money will not solve her problems of being alone and having a dysfunctional mother.  Still, this is an absorbing introduction to the world of art 
risdalum More than 1 year ago
A wonderful story and incredibly well written.
Katie_breathofbooks More than 1 year ago
This book was a quick read that I finished in one day. I wasn't sure how I'd like it, since middle grade sometimes reads a bit too young for me, but I really enjoyed this. The mystery was engaging and kept me turning the pages. I also really enjoyed the friendship formed between Theodora and Bodhi. I also was quite surprised by many of the results to parts of the mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome