Wingman

Wingman

by Emmy Curtis

Paperback

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Wingman by Emmy Curtis

Sizzling hot and full of action, the Elite Ops military romance series is perfect for fans of Suzanne Brockmann, Julie Ann Walker, and Lynne Ray Harris.

The higher the risk, the harder the fall.

Maj. Missy Malden loves her job, her plane, and its pilot-not that she could ever let him know. He's way too cocky, way too sexy, and in their job, any distraction is way too dangerous. But when a training exercise spirals out of control, Missy's in the hot seat, and Conrad's the only one who can bail her out . . .

Lt. Col. Francis Conrad has always valued Missy too much as his weapons specialist to ever tell her how he really feels. But now that she's been accused of treason, he can't sit back and let her fly solo. To keep her safe, he'll put everything on the line-his career, his heart, and even his life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781478947936
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 11/07/2017
Series: Emmy Curtis's Elite Ops Series , #2
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Emmy Curtis is an editor and a romance writer. An ex-pat Brit, she quells her homesickness with Cadbury Flakes and Fray Bentos pies. She's lived in London, Paris and New York, and has settled for the time being, in North Carolina. When not writing, Emmy loves to travel with her military husband and take long walks with their Lab. All things considered, her life is chock full of hoot, just a little bit of nanny. And if you get that reference...well, she already considers you kin.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wingman 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
etoile1996 More than 1 year ago
wingman picks up in the middle of the action for aces wild. eleanor's friend missy malden is accused of trying to kill her and is being framed for it. but her longtime pilot, francis conrad, the man she's been secretly in love with for years, will not let that stand. he knows missy is innocent. and he also knows that she is intent on making a change. having recently put in for a transfer that has him reeling. she thinks he's reeling because he needs her as his weapons specialist and that it's all about his career, but she's wrong. it's about losing her. he's been so good at pretending to be a ladies' man, inventing these outrageous stories so that she wouldn't know how in love with her he was. and to keep her at a distance. it's possibly the dumbest, most arrogant reason to do something like that, but it's too late. because she thinks he's something he's not, and now he has to convince her that he's not just reacting like this because she's leaving, but that he's felt this way all along. again the romance plays out against the backdrop of intrigue and suspense of the red flag exercise gone rogue. and even though missy and francis' story wraps up before the whole mystery is solved, the story continues to be intriguing for future books in the series, but is still an extremely enjoyable read. **wingman will publish on november 3, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever yours) in exchange for my honest review.
Kindle_Loving_Mom More than 1 year ago
This was the second book in this series. It's a standalone romance plot, but the suspense plot is ongoing throughout the books, and you only get to see the suspense plot from the main character's perspective in each book, so you learn different things along the way. It's quite a different way of writing romantic suspense. I like the style, but after the first book, there was no info about book 2, so the suspense plot felt unfinished, and I had no way of knowing if it would be finished down the line. I'm so glad that it is ongoing, and I'm looking forward to the completion of it in book 3! Major Missy Malden loves flying in the Air Force. She's a weapons specialist on a fighter jet, and she's great at her job. She and her pilot know each other's moves and can anticipate any action. Only problem? She's in love with her pilot, and Conrad can never find out. Not only is it against the rules, even illegal, for them to be together, but he has no interest in commitment, and she knows she needs to let him go, without letting him know the truth. So, she's decided to ask for a transfer. Lt. Colonel Francis Conrad is a great pilot, and he's made even better by Missy always knowing his next move when they're in the air. He wants her, but he's always kept that to himself, and kept himself apart from her, whenever they aren't in the air. He's blindsided by her transfer request, and he realizes he's about to lose her from his life altogether. He doesn't think he can live with that, but he isn't sure what to do about it. They're at a training exercise is the Nevada desert, and when stuff starts going crazy, and Missy is accused of a crime he knows she didn't commit, he's determined to not only help her, but make her his for good. I loved the connection between Missy and Conrad. They already had great work chemistry together, but once sex enters the picture, their chemistry explodes. Neither of them had any idea the other was pining away for them, and they both worked hard to keep that info secret. They were both scared to take the next step, especially because both their careers could be at risk if they give in to it. But, the dire circumstances of their situation finally helped take the choice out of their hands. I loved how they worked together to help prove Missy's innocence, and how Conrad had utter faith in her. The suspense plot is pretty detailed, and well done. A private tech company, with deep pockets, and deeper connections than they should have in the U.S. Government, is out to destroy anyone who gets in their way. We saw what happened to the main characters in book 1, and this was another piece of the puzzle that was going on concurrently while book 1's events were also taking place. It also started the threads for the final book, and made you anxious to know just what the heck was really going on. I loved how the pieces all fit together, and I'm so excited to get the conclusion in book 3! If I had known how this was going to go, I might have waited to read the 3 books until they were all released, as I'm NOT a fan of cliffhangers. BUT, the romance plots are each concluded, including an epilogue, so it's only the suspense that's ongoing, and I can live with that! I recommend this series, and I can't wait for the final book!