Working Fire

Working Fire

by Emily Bleeker

Paperback

$13.46 $14.95 Save 10% Current price is $13.46, Original price is $14.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Working Fire by Emily Bleeker

From the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of When I’m Gone comes a compelling novel of a bond between sisters, tested by tragedy…

Ellie Brown thought she’d finally escaped her stifling hometown of Broadlands, Illinois; med school was supposed to be her ticket out. But when her father has a stroke, she must return home to share his care with her older sister, Amelia, who’s busy with her own family. Working as a paramedic, Ellie’s days are monotonous, driving an ambulance through streets she’d hoped never to see again.

Until a 911 dispatch changes everything. The address: her sister’s house. Rushing to the scene, Ellie discovers that Amelia and her husband, Steve, have been shot in a home invasion. After Amelia is rushed to the hospital, Ellie tries to make sense of the tragedy. But what really happened inside her sister’s house becomes less and less clear. As Amelia hangs on in critical condition, Ellie uncovers dark revelations about her family’s past that challenge her beliefs about those closest to her…and force her to question where her devotions truly lie.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781542045728
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication date: 08/29/2017
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 379,398
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Emily Bleeker is a former educator who learned to love writing while teaching a writer’s workshop. After surviving a battle with a rare form of cancer, she finally found the courage to share her stories, starting with her debut novel, Wreckage, followed by the Wall Street Journal bestseller When I’m Gone. Emily currently lives with her family in suburban Chicago. Connect with her or request a Skype visit with your book club at www.emilybleeker.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Working Fire 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks More than 1 year ago
Emily Bleeker's Working Fire takes readers into the lives of Amelia and her much younger sister, Ellie. Both have made sacrifices to care for their ailing father, but it's not enough to keep the past from catching up with them all. Ellie, a paramedic who gave up medical school to come back home, gets a call that takes her rushing to her sister's home in the middle of the night. She finds that Amelia and her husband, Steve, have been shot in what looks like a home invasion. The police get involved and it seems that multiple people have been keeping secrets that are close to being exposed. Ellie, however, will not rest until the truth is out and she finds whoever hurt her sister. This story is built on kept secrets and how we don't always know people as well as we might think, even those who are closest to us. Told in multiple perspectives taken from past and present, Working Fire takes readers into a deep web of mystery that quickly unravels. It rolls along at a steady pace that makes just enough room for all the drama and heartbreak that fills the pages. The characters are filled with lingering hopes for the future that make them all the more realistic. With a mix of suspense and family conflict, Working Fire is perfect for fans of Kerry Lonsdale and Eliza Maxwell! *ARC provided in consideration for review*
Irene Olson More than 1 year ago
I love this author's skill of writing suspense and painting enough Who done it? choices that you'll be guessing until the very end. Highly recommend for all readers, male and female.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
Wow did this book have a jaw dropping ending! It came out of nowhere! I had my doubts but they were nothing like what really happened in this book. I'm not going to be able to tell you a lot of specifics without including a spoiler. So I am just going to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Ellie and Amelia are two very likable characters and are sisters. Ellie has been away at college but comes back home to their small town when her father has a stroke. Now Ellie, having given up med school, is a paramedic. She couldn't pass the strenuous tests to be a fireman which include carrying a body, but she would have made a good one. Besides that, she helps take care of her father along with her sister, Amelia. Amelia is married with two children to an ex-firefighter that now owns his own roofing company. The company is ran out of their house. Amelia is also a concert cellist, doing the odd wedding here and there. There's not a real symphony in their small town, so she takes smaller gigs when she can get them. She also helps out with her husband's company and, of course, runs the household. The author did a great job with the characters and with the introduction of them and their lives. However, when the plot twists to that final turn, it was a crazy, out of left field turn. Jaw dropping. A great read that I thoroughly enjoyed! Thanks to Lake Union Publishing and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
CRISSYM More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars!!! Emily Bleeker is a new author for me so I was beyond excited to read her work. It turned out to be a good read filled suspense, and full of twists and turns. At times, the story did seem to drag a little even though there was always something going on. The pace of the story was the only thing stopping me from giving this story 5 stars. When it comes to this book few people are who they seem to be and money is the root of all evil. Everything is wrapped up nicely and comes full circle. If readers are looking for a suspense filled read this book will not disappoint. I'm glad I was given the opportunity to read it.
CRISSYM More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars!!! Emily Bleeker is a new author for me so I was beyond excited to read her work. It turned out to be a good read filled suspense, and full of twists and turns. At times, the story did seem to drag a little even though there was always something going on. The pace of the story was the only thing stopping me from giving this story 5 stars. When it comes to this book few people are who they seem to be and money is the root of all evil. Everything is wrapped up nicely and comes full circle. If readers are looking for a suspense filled read this book will not disappoint. I'm glad I was given the opportunity to read it.
MMFinck More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the sisters' bond and really enjoyed Ellie as a protagonist. She's good. She's smart. And brave.
teachlz More than 1 year ago
MY REVIEW OF "WORKING FIRE" By Emily Bleeker I would like to thank NetGalley, Lake Union Publishing and Emily Bleeker for the Advanced Reading Copy of "Working Fire" by Emily Bleeker.  The genres for this book are Fiction, Mystery, Thriller and Suspense. The timeline of this story is set mostly in the present with explanations of events that happened in the past, that are pertinent to the storyline. I appreciate that Emily Bleeker has written an intriguing, and captivating story, discussing the importance of family, and the importance of Paramedics, EMT's, Firefighters, and the Police. There are twists and turns, suspense, betrayals, and secrets that are devastating.  The author describes her characters as complex and complicated. Some characters are not who they seem to be. As the storyline progresses, some character are unpredictable and unstable.    Emily Bleeker is a paramedic, who gets a call that there has been a shooting at a familiar address. Emily's sister Amelia and her husband and children live at that address. Everything that Emily has believed in, makes her question everything. Who can you trust? This is an intense and suspenseful story that will leave you on edge.  The ending was surprising to me. I would recommend this novel and look forward to reading more books from this author.