.
Yours, Jean

Yours, Jean

by Lee Martin

Hardcover

$26.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14

Overview

“When she refused me,” Charlie says at his trial. “Well, I had that gun. What else was I to do?”


Lawrenceville, Illinois, 1952: Jean De Belle, the new high school librarian, is eager to begin the next phase of her young life after breaking off her engagement to Charlie Camplain. She has no way of knowing that in a few short hours, Charlie will arrive at the school, intent on convincing her to take back his ring.


What happens next will reverberate through the lives of everyone who crossed paths with Charlie and Jean: the hotel clerk who called him a cab, the high school boy who became his getaway driver, and the English teacher who was Jean’s landlady, her confidant, and perhaps more.


Based on a true crime and ideal for readers of The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers and Elizabeth Strout’s beloved Anything Is Possible, Pulitzer Prize finalist Lee Martin's Yours, Jean is a powerful novel about small town manners and the loneliness that drives people to do things they never imagined.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781950539147
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication date: 05/26/2020
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 1,276,756
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

Lee Martin is the author of five novels, including The Bright Forever, a finalist for the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. He has also published three memoirs and two short story collections, most recently The Mutual UFO Network, in addition to the craft book, Telling Stories. He is the winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Ohio Arts Council. He teaches in the MFA Program at The Ohio State University.

Customer Reviews