Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ and YA Book Releases of September 2021

Pumpkin spice lattes, apple cider donuts and hay rides are on the horizon. September is here, and with it, one of our largest new book releases of the year! Whether you’ve been waiting for the next book in your favorite series, looking for a new picture book to add into the storytime rotation, in need of a brand new story to get lost in, or ready to dip your toe into Spooky Season, we’ve got you ― here are our most anticipated Kids’ and YA titles for September.

The Beatryce Prophecy (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Kate DiCamillo

Set in a faraway medieval land, The Beatryce Prophecy is a masterful adventure story about a young girl named Beatryce who, unbeknownst to her, is the subject of a harrowing prophecy. On her journey of self-discovery, Beatryce learns the power of stories, and even more importantly, the power of love. Coupled with gorgeous illustrations by Sophie Blackall, The Beatryce Prophecy is another instant classic by Kate DiCamillo that will be cherished by readers for years to come.

 

Hello, Star
Stephanie V.W. Lucianovic

Stephanie V.W. Lucianovic details the story of a young girl who falls in love with science and space. When the young girl learns that a dimming light in the sky is coming from a dying star, she promises to keep it company until the light goes out. She devotes her life to getting closer and closer to the star, eventually becoming an astronaut. With other-worldly illustrations from the unparalleled Vashti Harrison(!), Hello, Star is an awesomely inspirational picture book.

 

Paradise on Fire
Jewell Parker Rhodes

Adventure, survival and environmentalism collide in this action-packed new story from Jewell Parker Rhodes. Years after Addy’s parents pass away in a fire, her grandmother sends her to a wilderness program out west. As she starts to make new friends, the unthinkable happens when a wildfire breaks out nearby, and it’s up to Addy to lead the group to safety. This page-turning tale is not to be missed.

 

The Hawthorne Legacy (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Jennifer Lynn Barnes

In this electrifying sequel to The Inheritance Games, heiress Avery Grambs will stop at nothing to uncover the secrets lurking in the Hawthorne House halls that led an eccentric billionaire (and stranger) to leave his entire fortune to her. Mystery and malice abound as the plot thickens in this enthralling follow-up, perfect for fans of The Westing Game and Truly Devious.

 

Pax, Journey Home
Sara Pennypacker

Pax, Journey Home is a heartwarming, emotional, yet hopeful read about a boy, a fox, and their journey back to each other a year after they went their separate ways. This long-awaited sequel to Pax is just as powerful as the first volume, and the message of love and healing will stay with readers for years to come.

 

Beasts and Beauty: Dangerous Tales
Soman Chainani

Author Soman Chainani breathes new life into 12 well-known fairytales in this pulse-pounding collection of richly reimagined classics. Dark and daring, Beasts and Beauty is as enchanting as it is captivating, with beautiful prose that readers won’t want to put down until the very last page.

 

White Smoke
Tiffany D. Jackson

Tiffany D. Jackson’s first foray into true horror is, well, hauntingly good. A captivating take on a classic haunted house story, White Smoke is a multilayered modern tale about a teenage girl named Mari and her newly blended family who move from California into an old house in a run-down Midwestern neighborhood. Readers will need to sleep with the lights on after they speed through this unputdownable thriller.

 

Hooky
Miriam Bonastre Tur

Based on the much-loved WEBTOON comic, Hooky is a heartfelt and hilarious graphic novel about twin witches Dani and Dorian who miss the bus to their magical school and need to find a mentor – fast. Bright manga-style art beautifully illustrates the dialogue as readers delve deeper into this magical universe complete with danger, deception and, of course, dragons.

 

There’s a Ghost in This House
Oliver Jeffers

Equal parts spooky and charming, Oliver Jeffers once again puts his brilliance on display in this uniquely creative and ghostly tale that breaks the fourth wall. A natural, yet distinct compliment to What We’ll Build and Here We Are, There’s a Ghost in This House is an enchanting twist that everyone should experience.

 

Change Sings: A Children’s Anthem
Amanda Gorman

Poignant, powerful and perhaps the most important message we all want and need right now. Inaugural Youth Poet Laureate Amanda Gorman’s picture book debut is a musical journey of hope and inspiration that will remind us all that change is good and necessary. As only Loren Long’s paintbrush can do, his illustrations elevate Gorman’s words right off the page and wrap the reader up in their mighty message — everyone, regardless of age, has the power to make a difference and change the world.

 

Beasts of Prey
Ayana Grey

Chock full of atmospheric world-building and nonstop adventure, Beasts of Prey is a breakout debut fantasy about two teenagers ― one indentured servant and the other a fallen warrior ― who come together to hunt the Shetani, a vicious monster that has been menacing their city. This first book in an immersive new series is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, The Gilded Ones, and An Ember in the Ashes.

 

Pony
R. J. Palacio

An instant classic, Pony is the poignant tale of a young boy on a journey to find his beloved father on the 19th-century American frontier. Accompanied by a mysterious pony and a ghost only he can see, Silas faces his fears to embark on an epic quest fueled by the indomitable power of love. This richly imagined adventure story is undoubtedly worthy of a spot on every young reader’s bookshelf.

 

As Good as Dead
Holly Jackson

This third and final book in the thrilling Good Girl’s Guide to Murder series might be the darkest yet. Twisty, surprising, and absolutely enthralling from page one, there’s no better way to end a series. We can’t wait to see what Holly Jackson has coming next.

 

Kaleidoscope
Brian Selznick

Kaleidoscope is an utterly unique collection of connecting stories about the transcendent power of love. Each deeply personal vignette will mean something different to everyone. Accompanied by stunning illustrations from Brian Selznick himself, Kaleidoscope is a work of art that will be enjoyed by readers of all ages.

 

This Magical, Musical Night
Rhonda Gowler Greene

A modern, gloriously illustrated compliment to the classic Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin. The carefully curated introduction of instruments is perfect for initiating a lifelong love of music in children and it’s done with noteworthy, frameable art. Rhonda Growler Greene and James Rey Sanchez created magic with This Magical, Musical Night.

 

It Fell From the Sky
Terry Fan

Elegant, yet whimsical, It Fell From the Sky is another masterpiece from author-illustrators Terry and Eric Fan. Full of sophisticated, delicate illustrations and lessons around community, greed and humility, It Fell From the Sky sits beautifully next to the Fan Brother’s other works of art The Night Gardener and Ocean Meets the Sky.

 

Willodeen
Katherine Applegate

From the author of The One and Only Ivan comes another unforgettable story about a young girl and her unending love for all creatures big and small. This sweet treasure of a tale is a reminder to all that no voice is too small to make a difference, and we must all do our part to care for our delicate planet.

 

Defy the Night (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Brigid Kemmerer

Brigid Kemmerer’s next action-packed fantasy adventure Defy the Night is the start to a thrilling new series set in a world not totally unlike our own. As a deadly plague ravages the kingdom of Kandala, a cure is available – but only to those who can afford it. This page-turner draws inspiration from the classic tale of Robin Hood and examines the political rifts of a kingdom on the brink of catastrophe.

 

Once Upon a Broken Heart
Stephanie Garber

Richly imagined and mysteriously atmospheric, Once Upon a Broken Heart is the first book in an enthralling new fantasy series from Caraval author Stephanie Garber. This twisty, dreamy tale is perfect for fans of fairytales and fairytale retellings alike.

 

Comments are closed.

Follow BNReads