Chasing Shadows

Chasing Shadows

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi, Craig Phillips

“A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred
 
Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime.
 
When Holly wakes up, she is changed—determined to hunt down Corey’s killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long?
 
Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson.
 
“Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“[A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute.” —The Horn Book




Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375863431
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 06/09/2015
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 411,569
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

SWATI AVASTHI is the author of the highly acclaimed novel Split, winner of the IRA Book Award and the Cybils Award. Ms. Avasthi received her MFA from the University of Minnesota and currently teaches in Hamline University’s MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and two children. Visit her at swatiavasthi.com.
 
CRAIG PHILLIPS is an award-winning illustrator whose work has appeared on book jackets, in publications like Rolling Stone, and on tour posters for bands, including the Foo Fighters and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. He lives in New Zealand with his family.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chasing Shadows 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A bullet in the night changes everything and sets friends on a journey of grief together...until loss sets one of them so far adrift from reality that not even love and loyalty can throw a lifeline long enough to reach through the shadows. An extraordinary blend of love, friendship, grief, and gritty graphics that help give the plot legs and heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow....what a read! A great plot and a beautiful story. Don't skip oveer anything, everything is important in the book. Seven times down, eight times up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Extraordinary! Don't let the graphic novel bits deter you from this fabulous read; trust me, those images are essential and very much worth it! I have yet to read anyone else who has successfully managed this format with such stellar plot and characterization. A great novel for teens and adults alike!