DIY: The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

DIY: The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

by Eric Sprankle PsyD
DIY: The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

DIY: The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

by Eric Sprankle PsyD

Paperback

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

The first-ever social and scientific history of masturbation, which unapologetically critiques a system that has sought to control the very human desire for self-pleasure.
 
Despite decades of medical and psychological research confirming that masturbation is healthy, the act remains shrouded in taboo and pseudoscience. In DIY, Dr. Eric Sprankle reveals the untold story of crusaders on a long campaign to suppress masturbation and the sex educators fighting back with science. He introduces readers to a colorful cast of characters: doctors advocating for the use of chastity devices, wellness influencers who believe ejaculation depletes the body of vital nutrients, pastors who preach that masturbation creates mermaids, and vibrator aficionados who teach the curious how to come. DIY will challenge what you think you know about the very human need for self-pleasure.
 
Part sex-positive exposé, part fascinating science, DIY spotlights generations of sex education countering anti-masturbation pseudoscience with empowering truths about pleasure. This sex book is perfect for fans of Mary Roach books like Bonk or anyone curious about the history of sex and masturbation.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781454948797
Publisher: Union Square & Co.
Publication date: 03/19/2024
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 216,939
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Dr. Eric Sprankle is a professor of psychology at Minnesota State University, Mankato, and is a codirector of the sexuality studies undergraduate program. He’s also a licensed clinical psychologist and an AASECT-certified sex therapist affiliated with the Minnesota Sexual Health Institute in Minneapolis, where he offers continuing education training to therapists on a wide-range of sexuality and sexual health topics. As an educator, researcher, and therapist, Dr. Sprankle has over 10 years of experience, and his research on stigma and sexuality has been presented at dozens of regional, national, and international conferences, and published in numerous academic journals. He is a frequent guest on a number of podcasts, radio shows, and YouTube channels, and he has been interviewed for numerous publications, including Men’s Health, The Daily Beast, Hustler, and Dan Savage’s Savage Love column.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews