Everything You Wanted to Know About Ashtanga Yoga

Everything You Wanted to Know About Ashtanga Yoga

by James David Rockefeller


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, August 26


If you are searching for a form of yoga that gives you a toned body, better control over your thoughts, better management of your emotions, and a road to attain spiritual liberation, try out Ashtanga Yoga.
This yoga form has its roots in the ancient text of Yoga Korunta, which was written by Vamana Rishi. In the early 1900s, Rama Mohan Brahmachari passed on the information present in Yoga Korunta to his disciple, Sri T. Krishnamacharya, who in turn passed it on to his disciple, Pattabhi Jois, in the beginning of 1927.
Sri K. Patthabhi Jois began his yoga studies in 1927, when he was just 12 years old. In 1948, he established the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute for helping others incorporate the practice of Ashtanga in their lives.
Ashtanga, or "eight limbed," is taken from the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and anyone who can slowly go on from one stage to the other can reach the level of samadhi and achieve the ultimate goal of yoga, that is, kaivalya or separation of purusha from prakriti and attainment of liberation.
It takes years and years of practicing Ashtanga Yoga to attain samadhi and kaivalya. The path is surely not easy, but it is definitely not impossible. You don't need to retreat from the material world to reach the stage of samadhi. You can do so in your day-to-day life.
Each limb of Ashtanga Yoga is taken from the Yoga Sutras. If you follow the guidance of Patanjali and Sri Pattabhi Jois, you can surely experience a spiritual way of living that you may have never even dreamed of.
Although the Yoga Sutras considered asana as the third limb and states that the first two limbs should be followed first, Sri Pattabhi Jois believed that asana, or postures, is where you should begin since it makes you aware of your body, your mind, and your breath. As you continue with your asanas, you will notice yourself to be calmer. Your mind will quieter and stiller.
The aim of this book is to introduce you to Ashtanga Yoga. It aims at introducing the eight limbs of this way of living. You will learn the experiences you can expect during each stage. You will learn about the foundation principles of Ashtanga Yoga. You will know how to get started and how to move on from one stage to the other.
You will learn about the dos and don'ts of thinking and action. Learn about the vrittis or the fluctuations of the mind that prevent you from seeing your true self and reaching samadhi and attaining liberation.
You will also get to know about the asanas and pranayamas that Ashtanga Yoga comprises of. But don't just stop there. The book will also introduce you to the other limbs of ashtanga, that is, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi.
Believe it or not, these practices are not just for hermits; you can also aim at reaching these stages while continuing your life in the material world. It will take years and years of sustained practice, but it is definitely doable.
Let's get started and start living a more spiritual, healthier and complete life by following ashtanga.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781987472592
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 04/02/2018
Pages: 68
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.14(d)

About the Author

James David Rockefeller is an internationally renowned author with a simple yet engaging writing style. An avid world traveler, he enjoys looking at the world through a writer's lens and putting his thoughts to paper everywhere he goes.
Learn more at www.MyFreeEbookDownload.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews