Feels Like Falling

Feels Like Falling

by Kristy Woodson Harvey

Paperback

$13.99 $16.99 Save 18% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Parade’s 20 Most Anticipated Books of Early 2020
SheKnows' 10 of the Most Anticipated Books Coming in 2020

From “the next major voice in Southern fiction” (Elin Hilderbrand) and the bestselling author of the Peachtree Bluff series comes an odd-couple tale of friendship that asks just how much our past choices define our happiness.

It’s summertime on the North Carolina coast and the livin’ is easy.

Unless, that is, you’ve just lost your mother to cancer, your sister to her extremist husband, and your husband to his executive assistant. Meet Gray Howard. Right when Gray could use a serious infusion of good karma in her life, she inadvertently gets a stranger, Diana Harrington, fired from her job at the local pharmacy.

Diana Harrington’s summer isn’t off to the greatest start either: Hours before losing her job, she broke up with her boyfriend and moved out of their shared house with only a worn-out Impala for a bed. Lucky for her, Gray has an empty guest house and a very guilty conscience.

With Gray’s kindness, Diana’s tide begins to turn. But when her first love returns, every secret from her past seems to resurface all at once. And, as Gray begins to blaze a new trail, she discovers, with Diana’s help, that what she envisioned as her perfect life may not be what she wants at all.

In her warmest, wisest novel yet, Kristy Woodson Harvey delivers a discerning portrait of modern womanhood through two vastly different lenses. Feels Like Falling is a beach bag essential for Harvey fans—and for a new generation of readers.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

02/17/2020

Harvey (The Southern Side of Paradise) serves up a tale of disaster-turned serendipity in the fictional Cape Carolina, N.C. Successful businesswoman Gray Howard begrudgingly promotes her husband to CFO of her marketing company, ClickMarket, only for him to leave her for the assistant she hired for him. Reeling from a painful, cash-draining divorce, she inadvertently causes Diana, a photo developer at a pharmacy, to lose her job by complaining about her work. After learning this, Gray hires Diana to work as a housekeeper. Over time, the women vent about their lives and forge a friendship that heals them both. The story alternates between Gray’s voice and Diana’s, delving into Diana’s past heartaches and lost hope for having a child. In pitch-perfect tones, Harvey creates two Southern women doing their best to deal with everything life throws at them, and her able plotting will keep readers turning the pages. Secondary characters—Gray’s witty assistant, Trey; her new, younger boyfriend, Andrew; and Diana’s fiercely loyal friend group—add charm. Harvey’s optimistic tale just might convince readers that bouncing back can actually land a person in a better place than where they started. Agent: Elisabeth Weed, the Book Group. (Apr.)

From the Publisher

PRAISE FOR FEELS LIKE FALLING

"Two women in turmoil, two lives at a crossroads. Only Kristy Woodson Harvey can make sense of the sometimes devastating, often-times delicious dilemmas faced by the protagonists of her newest perfect beach read FEELS LIKE FALLING. Readers will fall in love with entrepreneur Gray, whose husband’s betrayal leaves her feeling adrift and looking for something beyond career success, while plucky down-and-out Diana will win the hearts of those of us who always root for the underdog. Buckle up, buttercups, because FEELS LIKE FALLING feels like your next summer sizzler!" —Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Sunset Beach, The High Tide Club, and The Weekenders

"Kristy Woodson Harvey has the voice of a best friend; a storyteller of the finest sort. Feels Like Falling takes us on a page-turning journey with two very different women who must somehow find their way together. Harvey asks the important question — how do we let go of the preconceived notions of our life ? And she answers that question with lyrical prose, an uncommon wisdom and a sharp wit. This is more than a novel about friendship, it is also a story for friendship: you will find yourself sharing it with everyone you love. Dive in; the storytelling is delicious!" —Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times Bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis

“Harvey creates genuine, capable, flawed protagonists and fun secondary characters, and readers will appreciate the thoughtful depiction of women supporting one another in an easy, breezy story. Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe should add this to their beach read lists.” Booklist

“In pitch-perfect tones, Harvey creates two Southern women doing their best to deal with everything life throws at them, and her able plotting will keep readers turning the pages...Harvey’s optimistic tale just might convince readers that bouncing back can actually land a person in a better place than where they started.” Publishers Weekly

PRAISE FOR KRISTY WOODSON HARVEY

“A major new voice in southern fiction.” —Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author

“[A] rising star of southern fiction.” —Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author

“Kristy Woodson Harvey really knows how to tell a southern tale.” —Cathy Lamb, New York Times bestselling author

“One of the hottest new southern writers.” —Parade

“My prediction is that writers come and writers go, but Kristy Woodson Harvey is here to stay.” The Huffington Post

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781982117702
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 04/28/2020
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 43,032
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)

Customer Reviews