For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy

For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy

by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
4.8 34

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank.

   
Suzanne David's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her. Until then the war had seemed far away, not something that would touch her or her teenage friends. Now Suzanne's family is kicked out onto the street as German soldiers take over their house as a barracks.
    Suzanne clings to the one thing she really loves--singing. Her voice is so amazing that she is training to become an opera singer. As Suzanne travels around for rehearsals, cosume fittings, or lessons, she learns more about what the Nazis are doing and about the people who are "disappearing." Her travels are noticed by someone else, an organizer of the French Resistance. Soon Suzanne is a secret courier, a spy fighting for France and risking her own life for freedom.

[STAR] "This taut, engrossing World War II novel instantly immerses readers,...[but] the real focus, however, is the skin-crawling suspense story about one of France's youngest spies. Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations...resonat[ing] with authenticity, excitement, and heart."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "This suspenseful novel,...based on a true story, moves swiftly into action...Filled, but not laden, with the events of the war, and peppered with French language and the culture of music, this novel will appeal to readers who enjoy history and espionage."-SLJ, Starred

[STAR] "Based on Bradley’s interviews with the real Suzanne, this is an exciting account of a girl’s coming of age in a scary time. The historical context is neatly woven into the story."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"The action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed."-The Bulletin

"A highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom."-Publishers Weekly

An IRA Teachers' Choice
An ALA Amelia Bloomer Selection
A VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection
A New York Public Library Book Pick
A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year



From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307433381
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 12/18/2007
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 137,105
File size: 465 KB
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley is the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of several novels, including Ruthie's Gift, One-of-a-Kind Mallie, Weaver's Daughter, Halfway to the Sky, and For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy. Bradley and her husband have two children and they live on a farm in eastern Tennesse, in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

For Freedom 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was such a good book i hardly put it down!! Very captivating and beautifully written!! Recommended to all types of readers!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is AWESOMMMMMEEEEE! Every word made me want to read more. If you love adventure, defiantly read this!
Liselle Thomson More than 1 year ago
This may be one of my favorite books i've ever read, amazing!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Im so in the whole war thing. This book really showed me how tricky things where for the french spys!!! It scared me,shocked me,and suprised me soooo much! READ IT AND YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book is great.
manders204 More than 1 year ago
Amazing Book that really changed and makes me think more about the second world war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And now he's here to (bleep) us!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read! It was very inspirational and courageous. Even though it was shorter than what I thought it would be, "For Freedom" it still deserves five stars. Well written and one of the best books I have read. I also find "Someone Named Eva" an interesting book to also read for WW2 readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was beautifully written. Best i have read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book and you will not want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EffieTX More than 1 year ago
I was really kind of disappointed...its pretty short, and the "hero" of the story was just perfect...and she apparently will be the first to tell you that. The characters were never really developed and at the end she apparently just drops everything and everybody she was supposed to love so much.....
Karen Hernandez More than 1 year ago
great historical fiction novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otulissa More than 1 year ago
My favorite historical fiction novel ever. You really care for the chracters and the Suzanne is a likeable protagonist that will have cheering for the resistance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a true story about a french girl named Suzanne David who became a spy to stop the nazis. This girl actually lived. If you like really good books then this is for you.