Nothing Like You

Nothing Like You

by Lauren Strasnick
3.6 93

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick

When Holly loses her virginity to Paul, a guy she barely knows, she assumes their encounter is a one-night stand. After all, Paul is too popular to even be speaking to Holly…and he happens to have a long-term girlfriend, Saskia. But ever since Holly’s mom died six months ago, Holly has been numb to the world, and she’s getting desperate to feel something, anything—so when Paul keeps pursuing her, Holly relents. Paul’s kisses are a welcome diversion…and it’s nice to feel like the kind of girl that a guy like Paul would choose.

But things aren’t so simple with Saskia around. Paul’s real girlfriend is willowy and perfect… and nothing like Holly. To make matters worse, she and Holly are becoming friends. Suddenly the consequences of Holly’s choices are all too real, and Holly stands to lose more than she ever realized she had.

"Nothing Like You is candid and quick-paced, with characters you can't help but want the best for."  --Deb Caletti, National Book Award Finalist for Honey, Baby, Sweetheart

"The fast-paced story will appeal to fans of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen." --Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781416986584
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication date: 10/20/2009
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 1,001,361
Lexile: HL580L (what's this?)
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Lauren Strasnick grew up in Greenwich, Connecticut, now lives in Los Angeles, California, and is a graduate of Emerson College and the California Institute of the Arts MFA Writing Program. She wrote her first short story, “Yours Truly, The Girls from Bunk Six,” in a cloth-bound 5x4 journal, in the fifth grade. She is the author of Then You Were Gone, Nothing Like You, and Her and Me and You. Find out more at LaurenStrasnick.com, and follow her on Twitter at @LaurenStrasnick.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nothing Like You 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 92 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the tears, the joy, and the read were all terrific. I loved it from start to finish and can't wait till Lauren comes out with her next book. It was a fast read which left me wanting the sequel immediately.
trixieontheeastcoast More than 1 year ago
From the first chapter, I was hooked. The characters are original, but easy to relate to. The story brings up dynamics that are universal and feel familiar, but it's written so perceptively- with compassion and wry humor- that it is suspenseful and revelatory. I feel like I know the characters, and watch them learn to know themselves better as the plot progresses. The dialogue is especially great; these sound like real people: young and smart and vulnerable. It made me cry at points, but this is not a sad book. It is fun fun fun to read. Also, there's a dog. My only complaint is that the descriptions of food (which are very grounding) kept me hungry and snacking the whole time I was reading. I would recommend this to young adult readers, and to adults who are able to see beyond stereotypes of teenagers and understand how wrenching adolescent relationships can be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey can you lend it to me please? Reply back titled Marina
RockinRobinRA More than 1 year ago
This book was a really great book. At first I thought it was going to be kinda boring but It was just so good. I finishes this book in one day. This book is one of my favorite books ever!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was recommended to me by a spanish professor who i love and i LOVED this book. Id recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was so sad, and i REALLY wanna know what happens with Nils relatioship with her. Do they, like, get together after college? Do they just stay friends? Do they just stop talking to eachother? I WANNA KNOW
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vegranillo More than 1 year ago
IF YOU FEEL VULNERABLE BECAUSE OF A BOY & NEED SUPPORT READ THIS! JUST READ THIS!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aiden Springfield More than 1 year ago
This book was allright. I didn't like the way holly's "adventure" turned out! I liked her friend nils! I also didnt like all the inappropriateness of it all but i think its very realistic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago