Play Me

Play Me

by Laura Ruby

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Play Me by Laura Ruby

Eddy knows how to play the game.

He is, after all, the writer, director, and cameraman—the mastermind, really—behind the hit online TV show Riot Grrl 16. When it wins a contest to be aired on MTV (and it obviously will—have you seen the competition?), he'll be famous.

Then there's the game of love. Eddy knows all the tricks, and his favorite girls are the ones with the fishnets and cherry lipstick and legs up to there. The ones who know he doesn't make any promises. The ones who are cool with it.

But as graduation looms, everything and everyone starts deviating from Eddy's master script. Never in a million years did he expect to be facing off again with the unapproachable, perfect Lucinda Dulko. For once in his life, he's not in control—and to be with Lucinda, he's willing to get swept up in the game. But what happens to a player when the rules suddenly change?

Can Eddy find a way to win it all?

Or will he get played?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061884627
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/31/2009
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
File size: 798 KB
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Laura Ruby is the author of books for adults, teens, and children, including the Printz Award-winning and National Book Award finalist Bone Gap, the Edgar-nominated mystery Lily’s Ghosts, the Book Sense Pick Good Girls, and the acclaimed novels York, Play Me, and Bad Apple. She is on the faculty of Hamline University’s MFA in writing for children and young adults program and lives in the Chicago area. You can visit her online at www.lauraruby.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Play Me 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eddy Rochester is a movie fanatic, a wannabe famous filmmaker, and a player. He¿s figured he¿s pretty much on the fast track to success with his popular online video series Riot Grrl 16. It¿s all about him, and the girls love him ¿ at least most of them do. But Lucinda Dulko is different she¿s not as easily charmed as Eddy¿s other conquests. Play Me followes Eddy through his ups and downs with Riot Grrl 16, his relationship with his actress mother, and his various female friends. Eddy has to realize that maybe he¿s not guaranteed instant success, and that maybe there are other people in the picture besides him. Laura Ruby weaves and incredibly realistic story in Play Me. Eddy¿s character is developed so well that I totally felt I could see through his eyes into his life. There¿s something so believable about Eddy¿s story that made me want to keep reading. The plot isn¿t too exciting, but reading this book was such a great experience because I could really feel Eddy¿s emotions. There aren¿t many books that I¿ve read that have such a real and honest male protagonist like Eddy. Play Me was a beautifully written and extremely honest story anyone can relate to. If you¿re looking for a realistic story to read, Play Me should be your first choice. Fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Catherine Ryan Hyde will also enjoy Laura Ruby¿s latest novel.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Eddy Rochester is a movie fanatic and a wannabe famous filmmaker. When his hit online show, "Riot Grrl 16," is in an MTV contest to be on a reality show called The Producers, Eddy and his team have a lot of work to do. "Riot Grrl 16" is about Eddy and all the girls that love him. All of the girls except Lucinda Dulko, who isn't as easily charmed by Eddy. With Lucinda being so unattainable and independent, Eddy couldn't be more attracted. PLAY ME takes you through the stress of "Riot Grrl 16," Eddy's relationship with his actress mother, and his countless female friends. PLAY ME is very realistic. You quickly become engrossed in the story because of its believability. You get a great understanding of Eddy and his friends. I love Eddy's sarcasm and how he and his friends talk about movies. You really feel like you're in the conversation. Laura Ruby writes from a male perspective just as well as she writes from a female one. Eddy is the perfect male protagonist. The book has a great plot and great characters, and is a book that you will instantly become connected with and be entertained by to the very end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book reminds me of a book i wrote called atempt fail fall break: Justin always gets the girls hes handsome charming and know exactly what to say and when to say it well at least thats how it used to be. Now hes the bigger fish in the sea 8th grade brings a new girl into justins life. Shes been here scince 6th grade hes just been 2blind to notice it shes perfect her name is Bri and she starting to flaunt what shes got shes been trying to get justin to notice her for 3 years but when he finally dose shes already moveing on justin trys to ask her out but is rejected and fails usually he moves on but this time its diffrent this time hes really in love so bad the word "no" hits him so hard he falls off his throne down to the lowest of low and breaks. Bri is a careing motherly kind hearted kind of person and sees justins attempt fail and his heart fall and break but aits waits to see if hes changed at all for bri takes love as a test rather than a game.: if u want to here more com back every day for each chapter thanx
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You shoudn' t be talking, besides the person apologized. Have you ever heard of freedom of speech?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cecep000 More than 1 year ago
okay so this book well idk it was very good i got soo mad though because from the way they made it seem in the beginning lucinda was diggin eddy and she is the one who asked him out first so WHY is she the one saying i dont want a serious relationship so that part was her fault buuuttt eddy was warned by all her ex boyfriendz but he wasz stupid and didnt listen kk that part is his fault annnd joe was suposed to be eddyz bestfriend so tell me why he waz makeing out with his girlfriend and then as soon as eddy and lucinda break up joe and lucinda sleep together??!!!!! BUTTT even tho i said all of this i still think it is lucindaz fault i mean she is a player okay so sorry i havent said anything about the book= kk so eddy is a natural player he never really carez about gurlz he hookz up with one gurl then the next day he is with another BUT that is until he find himself slowly falling for lucinda dulka as eddy putz it she has NO jen in her lopez or NO sha in her kira so why is he falling for her becuz she is different she is PERFECT! so eddy and lucinda hit it off rite away but eddy startz getting messagez on myspace saying watch out for yur new girlfriend and get use to it and stuff like that but he think o pleaz nothing is wrong with lucinda that is wen eddy starts gettin a feeling that lycinda and joe his bestfriend r sneaking around lucinda tells him he has nothing to worry about but............ is she just playing him? (okay sorry that was kind of a spoiler)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So this guy never really dates girls he just sleeps with them but this time the girl he is interested in is more like himself then he could ever imagine. Now just as he is raping for this gorgeous girl he has to deal with everything that any teenager goes through jealousy and heartbreak.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago