Prize Stories 1994: The O. Henry Awards

Prize Stories 1994: The O. Henry Awards

by William Abrahams (Editor)


$18.56 $19.00 Save 2% Current price is $18.56, Original price is $19. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 26


“Widely regarded as the nation’s most prestigious awards for short fiction.”—The Atlantic Monthly
The O. Henry Prize Stories 1994 gathers 21 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines.
Stories include:
Alison Baker “Better Be Ready ‘Bout Half Past Eight” (first prize)
John Rolfe Gardiner “The Voyage Out” (second prize)
Lorrie Moore “Terrific Mother” (third prize)
Stuart Dybek “We Didn’t”
Marlin Barton “Jeremiah’s Road”
Kelly Cherry “Not the Phil Donahue Show”
Elizabeth Cox “The Third of July”
Terry Bain “Games”
Amy Bloom “Semper Fidelis”
Michael Fox “Rise and Shine”
David McLean “Marine Corps Issue”
Elizabeth Graver “The Boy Who Fell Forty Feet”
Susan Starr Richards “The Hanging in the Foaling Barn”
Janice Eidus “Pandora’s Box”
Judith Ortiz Cofer “Nada”
Mary Tannen “Elaine’s House”
Dennis Trudell “Gook”
Helen Fremont “Where She Was”
Elizabeth Oness “The Oracle”
Katherine L. Hester “Labor”
Thomas E. Kennedy “Landing Zone X-Ray”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385471183
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/01/1994
Series: Prize Stories Series
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Born in 1919, William Abrahams published four successful novels and a number of poems before finding his true calling as an editor. He presided over the O. Henry Awards for more than 30 years starting in 1965. Abrahams also worked as the west coast editor of Atlantic Monthly Press and collaborated on nonfiction books with his partner, Peter Stansky. He passed away in 1998.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews