Sanditon

Sanditon

by Jane Austen, Kate Riordan

Paperback

$14.49 $16.99 Save 15% Current price is $14.49, Original price is $16.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 2

Overview

In the vein of Downton Abbey, Jane Austen's beloved but unfinished masterpiece--often considered her most modern and exciting novel--gets a spectacular second act in this tie-in to a major new limited television series.

Written only months before Austen's death in 1817, Sanditon tells the story of the joyously impulsive, spirited and unconventional Charlotte Heywood and her spiky relationship with the humorous, charming (and slightly wild!) Sidney Parker. When a chance accident transports her from her rural hometown of Willingden to the would-be coastal resort of the eponymous title, it exposes Charlotte to the intrigues and dalliances of a seaside town on the make, and the characters whose fortunes depend on its commercial success. The twists and turns of the plot, which takes viewers from the West Indies to the rotting alleys of London, exposes the hidden agendas of each character and sees Charlotte discover herself... and ultimately find love.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538734681
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 12/10/2019
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 232,057
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Kate Riordan is a writer and journalist from England. Her first job was as an editorial assistant at the Guardian newspaper, followed by a stint as deputy editor for the lifestyle section of London bible, Time Out magazine. There she had assignments that saw her racing reindeers in Lapland, going undercover in London's premier department store and gleaning writing tips (none-too subtly) during interviews with some of her favorite authors. After becoming a freelancer, she left London behind and moved to the beautiful Cotswolds in order to write her first novel.

Date of Birth:

December 16, 1775

Date of Death:

July 18, 1817

Place of Birth:

Village of Steventon in Hampshire, England

Place of Death:

Winchester, Hampshire, England

Education:

Taught at home by her father

Table of Contents

Introduction
Note on the Text
Select Bibliography
A Chronology of Jane Austen
Sanditon
Explanatory Notes

Customer Reviews