Shallow Graves

Shallow Graves

by Kali Wallace

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062366221
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/26/2016
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 606,350
File size: 870 KB
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Kali Wallace is the author of two novels for teens and many short stories. She studied geology for years but now devotes her time to writing. She lives in Southern California. You can find her at www.kaliwallace.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shallow Graves 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was definetly worth every penny i spent on it. Its a mix of adventure, horror, mystery, suspence, and a smidge of romance. Kali Wallace really made me feel as if i was apart of the story--like whatching a movie. Although it made me a bit sad that there wasn't a second book, it was very satisfying. At some points it might seem a bit slow paced--if you stick with it and read on, i promise it will not dissapoint. \( ' 3 ')/ *smoochies*
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
This book was completely not what I expected—in the best way. It’s creepy and twisty and really an interesting read. I liked the main character Breezy, and enjoyed reading about her crazy journey and experiences. The plot was really what made this book excel. The pacing was a bit disjointed in places, but the ending really was the perfect way to finish off the novel. If you’re a fan of Kate Karyus Quinn, get this one on your TBR list stat.
A-Smith More than 1 year ago
Dark, creepy, so scary. And the writing...unbelievably gorgeous! The scenes and descriptions were beautiful and terrifyingly real, painted with such rich, almost cinematic detail I could have kept on reading this book forever. I was hooked from the first page to the very last. The story was so complex, multilayered, and engaging that I was more than willing to suspend my disbelief in reanimated corpses, ghouls, and all otherworldly creatures in order to become fully immersed in Breezy's frightening, twisted new world. It's a story that balances revenge with redemption, and ultimately, finds light in the face of the dark shadows that we all harbor. SHALLOW GRAVES is a brilliant debut from Kali Wallace (and one that I can only hope will be followed by a sequel). Highly recommended!
SAlexander More than 1 year ago
Wow. Wow. This book is beautiful, creepy, terrifying and incredibly addictive. I knew it would give me nightmares but I couldn’t stop reading. From the very first line (and what a line!), I was intrigued by Breezy and the intrigue just kept coming. Angry and confused but tough and determined, Breezy discovers a new, frightening world of monsters and magic and along the way questions everything she knew about the other world, about being human. There are so many layers and life metaphors in SHALLOW GRAVES – but I don’t want to add spoilers because it’s more fun to figure it out along the way. This book wasn’t what I expected. It was so much more. I highly recommend (but those prone to nightmares should perhaps read during daylight hours). I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
lauralovesreviewingLT More than 1 year ago
Breezy wakes up dead. She has no memory of how it happened or why, one year later, she rose up. The dead guy she killed with her touch is a mystery to her. Why was he digging her up? Did he kill her? What did he want from her? Breezy must hide what she is as she unravels the mystery of her death and why she came back from those who would shun her and those who want her for their own reasons. No, Breezy is not a zombie. She doesn’t shuffle around looking for brains to eat. In fact, if she does eat food it makes her ill. I was intrigued by that. For most of the book, you have no idea how she came back or why. And there are others out there. Like, but not like Breezy. This is where I got a flashback to Nightbreed. Great book and movie about beings of all shapes and sizes just trying to live and avoid being persecuted for being something other than human. As Breezy learned more about what she was, I thought she handled it well for coming back from the dead. She soldiered on, determined yet scared, trying to hang on to the human part of herself. Read very genuine to me. About those other beings. I’m pretty sure one was a werewolf, not too crazy about him. I did really like the ghoul brothers. Yep, ghouls. I know, they eat dead bodies. But they can’t help it. And they’re not grungy and smelly. You’d never suspect they cut up bodies in their bathtub and eat them. A well woven horror mystery, Shallow Graves kept me up late, reading until I reached end. And the ending was a great wrap with up an opening to write more. Not sure if there will be a sequel or series, but if there is, I’ll read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Breezy wakes up in a shallow grave, her last memory the events of a party. But somehow an entire year has passed. And not only that-- she is changed. Her essence--her very life-- is gone. And she's killed a man. Is she . . . a monster? Wallace sucks readers in with this inventive premise, and never lets go. Though Breezy's situation is tragic, our heroine never spends too much time mired in self pity. This is a girl who had everything going for her and big, big plans -- to someday be an astronaut. Led by questions about her new identity and the possibility at a second chance at, if not life, at least time in this world, Breezy takes the reader on an unforgettable road trip across the Midwest. A paranormal story with some serious roots in the real world, SHALLOW GRAVES demonstrates Wallace's serious literary chops. Her control over the unspooling of this narrative, which jumps back and forth in time, is impressive. There are so many delicious moments of dark humor, where you almost forget you're reading about a bunch of murderers and monstrous beings. A very impressive debut.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't stop thinking about this book! Breezy Lin wakes up buried underground a year after she's been murdered. Alive-ish again, she can see and sense murderers, and when she touches them, she has a compulsion to use a new found power to end their lives. Breezy can't go home because she's dead, so instead she begins to travel around the country, looking for answers, finding murderers everywhere and learning about what really makes someone a monster. Shallow Graves starts off with a magical realism feel, which I love. Then about 1/3 of the way through there's a bit of a twist (not a twist in regards to plot, but in regards to world building, etc) At first I was unsure about this twist. I was really, really enjoying the sort of ambiguous magical realism vibe, but a little bit later I was completely over that. The twist was a amazing and wonderful and made me love the book even more, if that was even possible (also, it introduced my absolute two favorite characters, Jake and Zeke! I would read a book just about those brothers) This book has a wonderful creepy vibe and feel that continues throughout the whole story. Breezy is creepy, her world is creepy, and she meets creepy people, some who are monsters on the outside and some who are monsters on the inside. And along the way Breezy finds answers, and more questions, and grieves and grows and moves on, perhaps in the only way a girl who is dead, can. I was lucky enough to read this book as an arc in return for a fair review and I cannot wait to get my own copy so I can read this book again. Highly recommend for fans of Nova Ren Suma or other magical realism, or fans of horror or dark urban fantasy like Brenna Yovanoff.
Kathy MacMillan More than 1 year ago
Do not read this book when you are in the house alone - especially if you are a big scaredy cat like me. That said, Breezy, the main character, is more full of life than any reanimated corpse has a right to be. Horror and heart-pounding action alternates with witty banter, intense world-building, and characters that make you want to pull up a chair and hang out for awhile. (I dream of that brownie in the basement.) If you're a horror reader, you'll eat this right up. If you're not a big horror reader, grab this anyway, because you won't want to miss the great characters. Just, you know, keep the lights on and make sure someone else is around.
Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa More than 1 year ago
I want to thank Katerine Tegan Books for providing me with a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my opinion or review. I'll be honest, this review is going to be hard. I don't know how to write it without spoiling things. I'm all about a good mystery, and this one certainly fills that criteria. It's full of suspense and intrigue. And it kept me on my toes. Though I will say I had an idea of who the killer was, I couldn't figure out how it went down. Breezy was awesome. She's kind of an oddball, being dead and all. Despite this quirk, she's terribly likable and relatable. And she tries her best to blend in rather than stick out, for fear people will figure out exactly what she is. She's definitely self-relient. I mean, who wouldn't be when they are dead and really have nowhere to turn. And she has a lot of grit to her. She also is hell bent on figuring out not only what she is, but why she is. And to do this she needs to figure out exactly who made her dead! One thing that keeps you wanting to read this book is it's cleverness. It's quirky, dark and mysterious. You really never know what's around the next corner. And the secondary characters really lend so much to the plot line. You don't expect them at all so when they start coming out of the woodwork, you want to find out so much about them. I love the flashbacks the author incorporates into the book. it gives so much insight into Breezy and her life prior to being killed. And the pacing of the book was spot on with just enough action sewn in to keep you engaged. It's been a while since I have read any kind of supernatural book and this one really hit the spot. This unique read will fascinate fans of the show Supernatural and anyone who believes there are more than just humans in our world!