Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Sin Eaters: Stories

Sin Eaters: Stories

by Caleb Tankersley
Sin Eaters: Stories

Sin Eaters: Stories

by Caleb Tankersley


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 30


Winner of the 2021 Permafrost Prize in fiction
Magical, heartfelt, and surprisingly funny, Sin Eaters paints a tumultuous picture of religion and repression while hinting at the love and connection that come with healing. The powerful stories in Caleb Tankersley’s debut collection illuminate the shadowy edges of the American Midwest, featuring aspects of religion, sex and desire, monsters and magic, and humor.
Tankersley’s characters—including swamp creatures looking for love, pothead pastors, ghosts obsessed with TV, and a Jesus made of rust—arrive at the crossroads of pleasure and hunger in a world that is equal parts playful, hopeful, and dark. In “Never Been More in Love” a man must come to terms with his wife’s degenerative illness. “Uncle Bob” explores suicide attempts as a family heirloom. And the titular story follows a woman who must accept her monstrous role to find redemption for herself and her small town.
Sin Eaters is a fight for authenticity in a world that is mysterious, muggy, and punctured by violence. This stunning collection full of complex themes will both challenge and delight.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781602234512
Publisher: University of Alaska Press
Publication date: 03/01/2022
Series: Permafrost Prize Series
Pages: 184
Sales rank: 1,015,733
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 15 - 18 Years

About the Author

Caleb Tankersley is the author of the chapbook Jesus Works the Night Shift. His writing can be found in Carve, The Cimarron Review, Hobart, Sycamore Review, and more. He is the managing director for Split/Lip Press and lives near Seattle. Sin Eaters is his debut collection.

Customer Reviews