Spinster's Folly

Spinster's Folly

by Marsha Ward


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


Book 3: The Owen Family Saga. Winner of the 2013 USA Best Books Award for Western Fiction.Marie Owen yearns for a loving husband, but Colorado Territory is long on rough characters and short on fitting suitors, so a future of spinsterhood seems more likely than wedded bliss. Her best friend says cowboy Bill Henry is a likely candidate, but Marie knows her class-conscious father would not allow such a pairing. When she challenges her father to find her a suitable husband before she becomes a spinster, he arranges a match with a neighbor's son. Then Marie discovers Tom Morgan would be an unloving, abusive mate and his mother holds a grudge against the Owen family.Marie's mounting despair at the prospect of being trapped in such a dismal marriage drives her into the arms of a sweet-talking predator, landing her in unimaginable dangers."The harrowing experiences in early-day Colorado of 18-year-old spinster, Marie Owen, held me spellbound from start to finish. I couldn't put the book down. An incredible story, Spinster's Folly is one of the best women's novels of the west I've had the pleasure to read. Ever!"~Irene Bennett Brown, award-winning author of Before the Lark, the Women of Paragon Springs series, and the Celia Landrey mysteries"From family drama to neighborhood conflicts, cruel abuse and budding romance, a runaway bride and the suspenseful pursuit of a craven criminal, author Marsha Ward spins a suspenseful, fast-paced tale of undeclared love, cowardly deception, and gallant heroism."~Rod Miller, Spur Award-winning author"When Marsha Ward presents the reader with a new book about the Owen family, you can bet it will rivet your interest all the way to the end. You can't help but become totally immersed in the character's lives. Charming and earthy, Spinster's Folly is a grand addition to the Owen saga."~C.K. Crigger, award-winning author of the China Bohannon historical mystery series"With a great sense of time and place, crackerjack dialogue and rich characters, Marsha Ward delivers Spinster's Folly, a romance, Western and historical novel rolled into one-and one fun read."~Johnny D. Boggs, six-time Spur Award-winning author of Camp Ford and Legacy of a LawmanThe Best Reading Order for The Owen Family Saga is: 1-GONE FOR A SOLDIER, 2-THE MAN FROM SHENANDOAH, 3-SPINSTER'S FOLLY, 4-RIDE TO RATON, and 5-TRAIL OF STORMS.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780988381001
Publisher: WestWard Books
Publication date: 11/14/2012
Series: Owen Family Saga , #3
Pages: 244
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.55(d)

About the Author

Marsha Ward was born in the sleepy little town of Phoenix, Arizona, in the southwestern United States; and grew up with chickens, citrus trees, and lots of room to roam. She became a storyteller at an early age, regaling her neighborhood friends with her fanciful tales during after-school snacks. Her love of 19th Century Western history and fiction was reinforced by visits to her cousins on their ranch and listening to her father's stories of homesteading in Old Mexico and in the southern part of Arizona.

Over the years, Marsha became an award-winning poet, writer and editor, with over 900 pieces of published work, including her acclaimed post-American Civil War novel series, The Owen Family Saga. She is the founder of American Night Writers Association, and a member of Western Writers of America and several other writers' organizations. She makes her home in a tiny forest hamlet in Arizona. When she is not writing, she loves to travel, give talks, meet readers, and sign books. Visit her website at marshaward.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews