Stones: A Novel of Art, Love, Intrigue and Magic in the South of France

Stones: A Novel of Art, Love, Intrigue and Magic in the South of France

by David A. Ross

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Stones: A Novel of Art, Love, Intrigue and Magic in the South of France by David A. Ross

Cornelius Valentine is a young, passionate and very talented sculptor living on the Left Bank in Paris. Obsessed with his work, he treats others—including his lover Ariel, who is also his model—with a fickle, laissez-faire carelessness that often seems arrogant and disregarding. Even though he understands he loves Ariel, he also knows he loves his work more. After their affair ends abruptly, and badly, he retreats to a village in the South of France to attempt his masterwork.

There, in the medieval village of Seillans, a delusional local artisan named Sylviane Raynard confuses Cornelius with a figure in her past—the celebrated Dada artist Max Ernst. Seeking revenge for unrequited love, she sets out to both befriend and slowly poison the young artist.

As Cornelius becomes increasingly ill from the poison cunningly administered by his nemesis Sylviane, he continues day by day to chip away at a massive stone in an attempt to reveal his 'impossible' masterwork. Monitoring his progress, as well as the progress of her well-planned revenge, Sylviane descends deeper into the realm of her contorted memories.

Each artist—Cornelius and Sylviane—plays out his drama with dedicated passion, alone and little understood, yet each must ultimately share the same existential dilemma: what happens when one fails both in love and art?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781452452661
Publisher: Open Books
Publication date: 06/25/2009
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 326 KB

About the Author

David A. Ross is a writer, editor and publisher. From 1984-1985 he was a columnist and contributing editor for Southwest Art Magazine. His novels include The Virtual Life of Fizzy Oceans, Xenos, A Winter Garden, Stones, How High The Wall, and his award-winning first novel The Trouble with Paradise, republished by Open Books under the title Calico Pennants. Also to his credit is the short story collection Sacrifice and the Sweet Life and the travel memoir Good Morning Corfu: Living Abroad Against All Odds.

Born in Chicago, Illinois, he presently lives on the Island of Corfu in Greece.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews