Tear You Apart

Tear You Apart

by Sarah Cross

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross

If you want to live happily ever after, first you have to stay alive. Viv knows there's no escaping her fairy-tale curse. One day her beautiful stepmother will feed her a poison apple or convince her on-again-off-again boyfriend, Henley, to hunt her down and cut out her heart before she breaks his. In the city of Beau Rivage, some princesses are destined to be prey.



But then Viv receives an invitation to the exclusive club where the Twelve Dancing Princesses twirl away their nights. There she meets Jasper, an underworld prince who seems to have everything—but what he really wants is her. He vows to save her from her dark fate if she'll join him and be his queen.



All Viv has to do is tear herself away from the huntsman boy who still holds her heart. Then she might live to see if happily ever after is a promise the prince can keep. But is life as an underworld queen worth sacrificing the true love that might kill her?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781512426281
Publisher: Lerner Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/16/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 378
Sales rank: 640,580
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Sarah Cross lives in New York and loves fairy tales in all their incarnations. Visit her online at www.sarahcross.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tear You Apart 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this and kill me softly! Please continue writing these!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the moment I picked up the book I could not put it down. This dark re telling of Snow White had twists and turns page after page. Cross out did herself and hopefully will write more books based on our fairy tell charaters.
COBauer More than 1 year ago
Received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. What an absolutely delightful read! TEAR YOU APART is a fun, fresh, modern twist on a classic fairytale. Sarah Cross managed to seamlessly weave in other fairytales, which made for a compelling read. Because this was not just another retelling, I was constantly on the edge of my seat--I had no idea what was coming next, even when I thought I did. Pacing was spot on and built up to an extremely emotional climax. Absolutely loved the way this fractured fairytale ended. Perfect for fans of Once Upon a Time. Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very similar to how reality can play out.
SezjbSB More than 1 year ago
There are so many reasons why I adore not only this book but the whole series, I really enjoy reading fairytale retellings no matter the fairytale I will pick it up and read it, also having this book compared to the tv shows Once Upon A Time and Grimm which I both love to watch made it almost a 100% guarantee that I was going to thoroughly enjoy this book, and enjoy it I did. Having read and reviewed the first book Kill Me Softly and giving it five stars I was already familiar with the authors writing style and enjoyed it. What I love most about these books are the twists that are made on these classic fairytale characters, the family situation with Viv's (Snow White) fated Prince Charming Jasper was genius, it definitely added another layer to the fairytale we have all grown to love. The character of Viv added a whole new depth to the Snow White character, a Princess who doesn't want her pre-destined Prince Charming and instead wants to be with her on-off boyfriend Henley who happens to be The Huntsman in this tale and who is given the task of killing Viv by her evil Stepmother Regina. With a sprinkling of fairytale characters throughout there is never a dull moment, you can't ever go wrong with a fairytale retelling written by Sarah Cross. I hope there will be more companion novels added to this series, I'm eager for more.
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club, Egmont USA, and NetGalley.) "There really is a monster after me, you know. The Huntsman. He's supposed to cut my heart out." This was a really good fairy tale story, and it even had a bit of a darker side! I really loved Viv and Henley in this, Viv actually loved her step-mother, and was upset by the way she treated her, and had suddenly turned against her, and I felt really sorry for her. “She said ‘One day I’ll send you into the forest, and send a man after you to make sure you don’t come back’” Henley was totally head-over-heels for Viv, and you could see how much it hurt him that she had pulled away, and that she didn’t trust him to save her. This pair just seemed meant to be, and it was hard to see them fighting. “And what am I supposed to do? What am I supposed to do while you’re figuring out if you want to date this guy?” The sick feeling rose up in her again. Leaving Henley – choosing someone else – meant losing him. “Whatever you want,” she said. “I don’t own you.” “Yes, you do, Viv. You know you do.” I even liked Jasper, Henley’s rival for Viv, especially the way he flirted with her when he first met her, and tried to get her to be his princess! “I don't get it." She gestured to the crowd of dancing princesses and princes, and the twelfth princess in particular. "Don't you have a princess already?" "The twelve dancing princesses curse isn't mine." "Then... what is your curse? Why am I here?" "Why are you here?" He leaned in, so close she could see the silver flecks in his dark grey eyes. "You're here because I got tired of waiting for you to die.” The storyline in this was really good, and I liked how many different fairy tales were mentioned! I loved the 12 dancing princesses, the girl who was forced to be silent and knit nettle jumpers to save her brothers who had been turned into swans, the girl who coughed up flowers and jewels every time she spoke, and even Rumpelstiltskin! I liked how we got lots of little twists in the story, lots of obstacles to overcome, and lots of evil people trying to stop Viv from getting her happily ever after! The romance in this was just great! I loved Viv and Henley together, and even when they weren’t being romantic with one another, their feelings shone through so strongly! You could just tell how much Viv wanted Henley, even though she knew she could never have him, and Henley’s pain over losing Viv was just heart-breaking. “He stroked her hair back from her face. Let his fingertips linger on her cheek. Waiting for something? But she gave him nothing. She didn’t know what to give. “Night, Viv,” He said finally. “Good night,” she said. His steps were softer as he left. He closed the door, and she touched her face where he’d touched it, knowing she wouldn’t sleep for hours. Because he was gone.” The ending to this was so good! We got loads of action, loads of twists, several nasty fairy tale deaths, a wedding, and of course, a happily ever after ¿ 8 out of 10
MissFictional More than 1 year ago
I had to suppress the urge to roll my eyes multiple times throughout Tear You Apart. I didn't have a very good reading experience, and there's only so much drama and ridiculousness I can handle in a book before I lose it. Wayyyy too much girl-on-girl hatred, lots of selfishness, bad choices galore, and a retelling that isn't even that unique. Viv is an insufferable brat who constantly bathes in self-pity whilst I forced myself to endure her long-winded complaint sprees. Good lawd, if she is the "fairest in the land," imagine everyone else? The only thing that's preventing me from one-starring this is that underneath the pointless drama and snobbery, there were some parts of the story that were done right. I can't exactly pinpoint what, but it's keeping me from full-on hating this.