B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Black Swan of Paris

The Black Swan of Paris

by Karen Robards

Narrated by Nancy Peterson

Unabridged — 16 hours, 53 minutes

Karen Robards

Audiobook (Digital)

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$38.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

View All Available Formats & Editions
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $38.99

Overview

An exquisite WWII novel illuminating the strength of three women in occupied Paris, for fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris.

A truly outstanding novel...reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage.-Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz


Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse's position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary-including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected-and in time to save Lillian's life.

In this heart-wrenching novel, bestselling author Karen Robards showcases the extraordinary lengths one goes to save their family from a German prison. A web of spies, the resistance and a vivid portrayal of Paris in wartime.


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Long a master of suspense, Karen Robards turns her formiddable talents to the Second World War. The Black Swan of Paris tells of singer Genevieve Dumont, who must navigate a tangled web of torn allegiances, painful secrets and a past that refuses to set her free, as she struggles to save all she holds dear from the Nazis. Boldly conceived and richly realized, Robards establishes herself in a single sweep at the forefront of World War II novels with an emotional and powerful tale.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris


“Beautifully written and completely absorbing. Genevieve is a broken but determined heroine in disguise, fooling the terrifying enemies surrounding her as she is immersed in the ugly belly of the Nazi occupation. Tension, secrets, and loyalty drive this gorgeous book until the very last page and I was transfixed by each riveting moment.”—Noelle Salazar, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Flight Girls


"One of the most popular voices in woman's fiction."—Newsweek

"One terrific storyteller." —Chicago Tribune


"Cinematic."—Publishers Weekly, starred review, on The Fifth Doctrine


"Evocative."—Library Journal on The Ultimatum

“Quite simply, the best historical romance I’ve read this year.”—Publishers Weekly on Dark of the Moon


“Beautifully told—the dialogue is crisp, the secondary characters bright and interesting, and the plot intriguing enough to keep readers turning page after page.”—Kirkus on This Side of Heaven


“A delightful and intense read that proves that Robards is equally gifted in crafting historical and modern romance."—Booklist on Shameless


“One of the finest, most talented writers of romantic history today.”—Affaire de Coeur on Loving Julia

Product Details

BN ID: 2940172600098
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/04/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews