The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition

The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition


$22.46 $24.95 Save 10% Current price is $22.46, Original price is $24.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition by Fernando Pessoa

For the first time—and in the best translation ever—the complete Book of Disquiet, a masterpiece beyond comparisonThe Book of Disquiet is the Portuguese modernist master Fernando Pessoa’s greatest literary achievement. An “autobiography” or “diary” containing exquisite melancholy observations, aphorisms, and ruminations, this classic work grapples with all the eternal questions. Now, for the first time the texts are presented chronologically, in a complete English edition by master translator Margaret Jull Costa. Most of the texts in The Book of Disquiet are written under the semi-heteronym Bernardo Soares, an assistant bookkeeper. This existential masterpiece was first published in Portuguese in 1982, forty-seven years after Pessoa’s death. A monumental literary event, this exciting, new, complete edition spans Fernando Pessoa’s entire writing life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780811226936
Publisher: New Directions Publishing Corporation
Publication date: 08/29/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 488
Sales rank: 157,206
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

(1888–1935), the Portuguese writer, literary critic, translator, and publisher, is one of the most significant literary figures of the 20th century. He wrote not only under his own name but under many others (including Bernardo Soares and Ricardo Reis).

is a Professor at the Universidad de los Andes and holds the Camões Institute Chair of Portuguese Studies in Colombia.

The peerless translator

Margaret Jull Costa

has won countless prizes for her translations from the Portuguese and Spanish.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews