The Dead Spot: Stories of Lost Girls

The Dead Spot: Stories of Lost Girls

The Dead Spot: Stories of Lost Girls

The Dead Spot: Stories of Lost Girls


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 21, 2024

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


The dead spot: a corner drenched in shadow; an earthquake's epicenter; the part of a roller coaster ride where the car rounds the final curve and all force dissipates, leaving those trapped beneath the safety bar feeling sick and hollow. From the beloved author of Frost Bite and Chopping Spree comes this heartbreaking horror collection about girls and women trapped by circumstance, manipulation, and obsession. The book includes a moving introduction by J. A. W. McCarthy (Shirley Jackson Award finalist for Sometimes We're Cruel) and seventeen stories by Sylvaine. The stories include: Astronaut Dreams, The Bride, New Hue, Playing Tricks, Sorry, We're Open, Antifreeze and Sweet Peas, If Heard, Please Call, Starved, Return of The Wilderness Girls, Night Maere, The Dead Spot, Burnt Embers and Bluebirds, Mr. Chew, Crimson Clover, Unrestful Dogs, Clutching Air, Edge of Decay.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781958598276
Publisher: Dark Matter Ink
Publication date: 05/21/2024
Pages: 188
Sales rank: 169,688
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.43(d)

About the Author

Angela Sylvaine is a self-proclaimed cheerful goth who writes horror fiction and poetry. Her debut novel, Frost Bite, and debut short story collection, The Dead Spot: Stories of Lost Girls are out now. Angela's mall slasher novella, Chopping Spree, will be available fall of 2024. Her short fiction and poetry have appeared in over fifty anthologies, magazines, and podcasts, including Southwest Review, Apex, and The NoSleep Podcast. She lives in the shadow of the Rocky Mountains with her sweetheart and three creepy cats. You can find her online at

J. A. W. McCarthy is the Bram Stoker Award and Shirley Jackson Award nominated author of Sometimes We're Cruel and Other Stories (Cemetery Gates Media, 2021) and Sleep Alone (Off Limits Press, 2023). Her short fiction has appeared in numerous publications, including Vastarien, PseudoPod, LampLight, Apparition Lit, Tales to Terrify, and The Best Horror of the Year Vol 13 (ed. Ellen Datlow). She is Thai American and lives with her husband and assistant cats in the Pacific Northwest. She is an active member of the Horror Writers Association.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews