The Fairy Fly

The Fairy Fly

by Lori R. Lopez

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A Black Widow queen, a big bad Wolf Spider, and a Hit-Mantis are but a few of the obstacles for a spunky little spider who must find his way home through a strange land of giants in this witty fairytale fantasy for kids and adults. Transported out of his element into a realm of dangers and foes, Spider is aided by the insects and arachnids he befriends, but only he can see the Fairy Fly. Is she real or imagined? This whimsical novel about finding oneself while feeling small in a big world takes a step back and several steps downward to peep at humanity from below. At the same time, the story is an allegory of the human condition: life and death matters, war and peace, our everyday struggles on a tiny scale. Part humorous, part philosophical, at times poetic . . . it celebrates a love for animals, books and words. View the planet from a different angle as you take a spiderwalk through the door to adventure. Look for the Illustrated Print Edition of THE FAIRY FLY featuring artwork by the author. THE FAIRY FLY won Best Published Y.A. SCIFI/FANTASY for 2013 at the San Diego Book Awards and was the Young Adult Winner in the 2014 Great Southwest Book Festival. The book received Second Place in Humor from the 2015 Royal Dragonfly Book Awards, among other honors.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148429265
Publisher: Fairy Fly Entertainment
Publication date: 08/21/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Lori R. Lopez likes to be different, as a writer and as a human bean — er, being. She is a proud member of the Animal Kingdom, and a card-carrying member of The Crackpot Society (well, she would be if they gave out cards — perhaps Playing Cards count; she has plenty of those for playing her favorite game, Nertz). Aside from all this, she has been an animal-lover as long as she can remember. When she was a child she would take tiny critters outdoors that were trapped in the house so they could be safe. (She has since learned that some little critters belong inside.) She held funerals for dead spiders and insects on the playground at school, and collected deceased birds and squirrels to bury in her mother’s flower garden. She also hung around cemeteries reading the names on tombstones, wondering who they were. Suffice it to say, Lori was a peculiar little girl who loved creatures great and small. She passed this trait on to her sons . . . the love for creatures, not the peculiar part. Lori wrote a first draft of THE FAIRY FLY about fifteen years before expanding the tale into a novel. She jotted down ideas for additional characters and plot elements, but most of the new material came to her during the three months of finishing the story. As usual, she put her heart into the weaving of words and hopes that it shows, yet this book was special to her.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fairy Fly 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite In The Fairy Fly, author Lori R. Lopez takes a look at some of the world’s smallest creatures. Lopez’s novel tells the story of Spider, a recently hatched jumper spider who is trying to find his way home. Spider was the smallest of his egg sac and the last to come out because of his fear of leaving the nest. Little did he know that his adventures were going to get even bigger and scarier. For Spider, finding a home that was safe and warm was important, and he thought he had found the perfect place. His home was dark and secure, closed off from the scary world, and soft, and it was also the pocket of a sweater that was soon going to take him far from home. When the owner of the sweater, the young boy whose home Spider lives in, takes his sweater to school, Spider finds himself in a strange, exciting, and dangerous new world. In his adventures, he encounters wonderful new friends, dangerous new foes, and the magical and mysterious Fairy Fly, and learns that the world is a grand place that demands to be explored.   Lori Lopez’s book, The Fairy Fly, is a wonderfully fanciful tale. Fans of books such as Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little are sure to be intrigued by this tale, which celebrates the little things in life and how one being, no matter how small, can make a difference. It was Lopez’s unique dialogue that captured my imagination, however. Each creature had a unique voice, and the playfulness of characters, such as the Merry Mites, or the wise speeches of the Bookworm reminded me of the aura created in the works of Lewis Carroll. The book took just a little bit for me to get into, but by the end I was completely immersed in Spider’s world. My only concern was that at times it was difficult to get a clear view of setting, because of the smaller viewpoint of Spider. More tangible descriptions of setting would have made it easier to deduce where Spider was located, but it is my understanding that Lopez plans on making an illustrated version of this tale, which should help with this confusion. I highly recommend this tale for Young Adults and any who needs a reminder of just how wondrous our world really is. I hope to read more from Lori Lopez in the future.