The Firebrand Legacy

The Firebrand Legacy

by T.K. Kiser

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A magical language. An enchanted flame. A word to save everything.

---

Every year when the dragon Kavariel visits thirteen-year-old Carine's home city, Esten, the other townsfolk hang pennants and light Festival fires, they strum lutes and dance through the night, waiting for the beast to arrive.

Nevermind that the dragon burns down houses.

Nevermind that its talons crush boats.

Nevermind that it eats a few townsfolk before flying off.

Everyone celebrates anyway.

Everyone, that is, except Carine, the daughter of a poor shoemaker. Ever since the dragon ate her sister, Carine has hated magic, dragons, and everything to do with them. But this year, when the ash dragon doesn’t visit and doesn't leave its protective flame, it leaves the kingdom--and what's left of Carine's family--vulnerable to an even more vile threat.

Determined to protect her family, Carine joins forces with twin princes and plunges headlong into an adventure that calls into question everything she has been taught to believe.

"A thoroughly engaging fantasy...A rousing saga of magic and mystery that leaves the door wide open for a sequel and more.” -- Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will be THRILLED...I highly recommend it to readers ages 10-14 and anyone who enjoys stories about magic and fantasy (and DRAGONS!)." -- Hall Ways Reviews

"Best Juvenile Fiction" Gold Winner -- IPPY Awards 2016

---

This award-winning middle grade fantasy adventure is perfect for readers of Gail Carson Levine, J.K. Rowling, C.S. Lewis, and Patricia C. Wrede.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152497519
Publisher: T.K. Kiser
Publication date: 12/08/2015
Series: The Manakor Chronicles , #1
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 297 KB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Theresa (T.K.) Kiser is the award-winning author of the fantasy adventure series The Manakor Chronicles for readers ages 10-14. THE MANAKOR CHRONICLES includes THE FIREBRAND LEGACY (Saint Pancratius Press, 2015), DEATH DRAGON'S KISS (Saint Pancratius Press, 2017), and *Third Book, Coming Soon!* [To stay in the loop for Book 3, sign up for her newsletter on her website, theresakiser.com]

She is also the author of the board book A LITTLE CATHOLIC'S BOOK OF LITURGICAL COLORS. Kiser speaks for both youth and adult audiences on writing. She is also available for radio interviews, TV interviews, podcast interviews, speaking engagements, and school visits, and guest blogging. Use the contact page for inquiries. She is a speaker at schools and writing workshops online and in the Southeast US. Find her online on Facebook, Twitter, or theresakiser.com

Customer Reviews